ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Canada for the win
by gfretwell - 12/06/22 08:28 PM
Tiny Homes and the NEC
by gfretwell - 12/06/22 01:43 AM
EMC Glands on Motors
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 06:12 AM
Ground Rods: Installation and Hook-Up
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 05:54 AM
Happy Thanksgiving all!
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:55 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 21 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1
J
Joe Offline OP
Junior Member
I was going to put a hardwired baseboard heater in this cool breakfast nook, but there's not room for that AND an outlet on the available wall space. NEC says you can't put a baseboard heater below an outlet (makes sense), but I really need an outlet on that wall. No problem, my Black & Decker book says this is circumventable by using baseboard heaters with built-in outlets. Well, they're out there, but Cadet, the mfr I researched, says the optional built-in outlet has to be on a separate circuit.

WHAT? The 1kw heater itself would only use 8.3 amps, and since 12/2 WG cable was roughed in for my 110V heater circuit why wouldn't the wire be good for at least another 8 amps?? Seems like a waste of perfectly good ampacity...if that's the word I want.

So now I'm leaning towards just putting in a 20 amp receptacle and plugging in one of those compact/efficient ceramic disc heaters. Only I'd like to use a programmable thermostat... Is there any reason I couldn't make one half of the wall outlet thermostatically controlled for powering a PORTABLE space heater?

Thanks!

Joe

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 123
D
doc Offline
Member
Joe,
I have used those little plug in heaters in my home over the years ,the problem is at 1350 watts the wire is border line over heating when you switch heater to the 1500 watt or high side then you are really heating the wire up,if you have 15 amp breakers they will kick off.Now if you have a 20 amp breaker with 12/2/w/g and a 20 amp outlet with nothing else on it then the heater will work ,but I grant you for sure if any thing gets plugged in with it the breaker will trip weather up or down line of the heater.
Either run another circuit at 20 amp breaker 12/2/w/g wire and 20 amp outlet or make sure you run that heater on low


MAY THE SUN SHINE ON YOUR FACE IN THE MORNING AND YOU AWAKE WITH A SMILE
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,080
Likes: 3
Member
Joe,

Wouldn't your Plug in Heater have a Built-in thermostat on it? (in it?)

I don't know of any programmable line voltage thermostats. Could you use a heavy duty plugin timer in conjunction with the thermostat on the heater?

How about a wall-type Heater/Fan for that area?


Bill

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 6
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
300,610 Are you busy
230,296 Re: Forum
215,075 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5