ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by sabrown - 11/25/20 02:00 PM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:52 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Lostazhell - 11/21/20 04:17 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43591 10/16/04 06:45 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 32
C
CalSparky Offline OP
Member
Kinda along the lines of my last post, can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters live? I would think not given that even 3 volts (an assumption, maybe much higher) across a few mOhms would create a high current condition; however, I realize that at high frequency, the cable impedance can appear a lot higher (75 ohms to be exact), which does beg the question, can a guy get away with dead shorting a 100' (or much longer really) cable?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43592 10/17/04 06:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
hbiss Offline
Member
Unless the cable is carrying power for something like a downstream line powered amplifier or an LNB on a sat dish there should be nothing but micro volts of RF.

Even if carrying power the power supply is almost always short circuit protected. If you suspect line powering though be nice and disconnect it before you cut, but you probably won't cause a problem if you don't. There is certainly no problem with unpowered cable.

The only case that I could think of that could cause a problem is with the cable supplying an on premises extender amplifier that is line powered by the outside CATV plant. 60 volts AC and there are fuses out there someplace. This usually isn't done very often though.

-Hal

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43593 10/17/04 09:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
E
Electric Eagle Offline
Member
Speaking from experience, if the RG6 is connected to a powered multiswitch for a satelite, don't cut it live!!!

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43594 10/18/04 07:03 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Yes, it depends very much on what is being fed down the cable.

If it's plain RF signals, then it depends upon the power level. I wouldn't want to cut coax live out of a transmitter as it may well damage the final amp stage.

As for cables with superimposed DC power, I know somebody who got so fed up with a cable-TV company that kept billing and wouldn't disconnect the service that he decided to disconnect it himself. It took out the CATV power to whole block!

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43595 10/18/04 10:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
SolarPowered Offline
Member
So, Trumpy, did they disconnect him then? [Linked Image]


(Edited to add: I thought I recognized the accent, but I was just a little, teeny bit off--I meant Paul.)

[This message has been edited by SolarPowered (edited 10-18-2004).]

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43596 10/18/04 12:38 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
D
dereckbc Offline
Member
No problem cutting coax live or not. What is important, at least in my industry, is to use special coax cutters as not to deform the coax.

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43597 10/18/04 12:42 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Quote
So, Trumpy, did they disconnect him then?
Trumpy? [Linked Image] I know we're both those Commonwealth guys with the funny accents [Linked Image], but I reckon that was aimed at me.....

Yes, they finally got the message!

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43598 10/18/04 06:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
"No problem cutting coax live or not. What is important, at least in my industry, is to use special coax cutters as not to deform the coax."
___________________________________________

What industry is that? Cut my coax when i am operating CW and you will light up.

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43599 10/18/04 08:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
D
dereckbc Offline
Member
LK, good point I should have qualified my statement with low power line level signals. I am in the Telco buisness, and we mostly deal with DS3, some micro and a lot of wireless telephone. Yes if you were to cut a coax with a transmitter on it you could get burned.

Re: Can RG-6 be cut with wire cutters "live"? #43600 10/18/04 08:34 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Active 1 Offline
Member
One place I was at had an prize of shame for the bigest mistake. I remember one guy got it for cutting a RG-6 for a home sattilate system. I guess it burned out the dish reciever.

Tom

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,216
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,947 Are you busy
205,828 Re: Forum
193,911 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3