ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#43497 10/15/04 12:19 PM
R
rad74ss Offline OP
At the company I work for as an electrical engineer, I worked my way up to it. I worked as a production electrician building units for 2 1/2 years, and have been in engineering for another 2 1/2 years.

The problem now is that when I go out on the floor, the people I used to work with treat me like I'm slumming. Case in point. Today I found a set of units. These are going on rooftops in NYC and surrounding areas. Between the electrical enclosure and the main disconnect was a horizontal run of 2" EMT. There were no gaskets.

I told them they needed gaskets especially since the rest of the unit was EMT/Sealtight. They said that they were told they didn't need them because they couldn't get our standard seals and the plastic caps on. Which I verified as true, and found they had forgotten to put one on and cut it in half to install instead of undoing the wire.

I then told them to take the gaskets off of some LT fittings so they could get a gasket and a cap on each one. Then put the standard seals on the LT fittings since they had longer threads.