ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Violation?
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:10 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 13 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#42832 09/27/04 01:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
J
JCooper Offline OP
Member
I have a 2200va UPS that I want to feed a branch circuit with, it is currently on a dedicated circuit which I want to pull out of the panel and put a cord and plug connected UPS in-line with. The UPS has 4 NEMA5-15 on the back of it now with no hardwire connections. I would install a 15 amp recpticle at the panel for the feed. What would be the best way to go about connecting the NM-B to the 5-15? I thought about a small spa panel, wire some SJ with a cord cap to the feed, install a 15 amp OCPD and wire my load to the OCPD. I know it will work but is this a code complient installation? The UPS will feed some outlets and a couple ceiling lights. Does anybody have any other ideas? Thanks

Jim

[This message has been edited by JCooper (edited 09-27-2004).]

#42833 09/27/04 04:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
I am not sure there is a code compliant way to use a cord and plug connected UPS to feed premise wiring.

I suggest the UPS is put at the point of use.

Anyone else got some ideas?


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#42834 09/27/04 04:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
I also vote with putting the UPS at the point of use Tough to do for those light fixtures), or buying one that is meant to be hardwired.

If you do what you propose, you will be installing flexible cord as part of a branch circuit, this is definitely not allowed.

Tom

[This message has been edited by Tom (edited 09-27-2004).]


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
#42835 09/27/04 05:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
J
JCooper Offline OP
Member
I knew that flexible cord wasn't allowed for a branch circuit, I was just curious if there was some kind of a loophole, like a feed from a generator. I got the ups free from a tearout that I was on so I don't think I will be purchasing a hardwire model, do they make any that small? I thought only the much larger output ones came with the hardwire option. I can hardwire the input, but the output would still be cord and plug. THanks

Jim

#42836 09/27/04 05:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
There is really no loophole for a generator.

If the generator was permanently installed as this UPS would be rubber cord would not really be an option either.

Code wise you can not put a cord cap on NM. (The UL white book makes this clear.)

And you can not use rubber cord for branch circuits.

Sorry I do not have an answer for you.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#42837 09/27/04 06:07 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
406-6(B) would prohibit you from using a double male ended cord.

#42838 09/27/04 06:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
E
Member
You can make this code compliant as long as you can isolate the circuit via some kind of transfer switch, like you would for a portable generator. Basically you can backfeed the circuit if you isolate it, however getting around the way the unit yo have feeds may be a problem.

#42839 09/27/04 08:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 228
J
JCooper Offline OP
Member
I figured that there would be no way around the cord and plug connection, I just wanted to see if there was something I was overlooking, and I wouldn't even consider putting a cord cap on NM. Thanks for the replies

Jim

#42840 09/27/04 09:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
D
Member
One problem I have not seen addressed yet is UL listing. As long as the unit is plug and cord connected, NEC does not have anything to say about it. But once you cross over into making it part of the wiring system, NEC does pertain. And in this case the UPS becomes a SDS, for which is not made or listed for. You would have to purchase a UPS made and listed for the purpose.

#42841 09/28/04 07:52 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 161
M
Member
What about using a panel mount receptacle and a panel mount inlet to plug the UPS into? These could be mounted into a 12x12x4 screw cover box then the only cord involved would be the one permanently attached to the UPS and all of the NM would still be in listed enclosures. Shoot it down...


Mike Wescoatt
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 9
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,454 Are you busy
231,865 Re: Forum
216,480 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5