ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Baseboard Mounted Light Bulb Socket
by SPSchuman. 07/15/19 03:22 PM
Hunter Fan Recalls Brunswick 3 & 4 Light Fans
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:08 AM
Honeywell Recalls some Smoke Sensors
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (crselectric), 8 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
15A receptacle #42304
09/18/04 08:04 PM
09/18/04 08:04 PM
R
RobbieD  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
I have a 15A breaker supplying a 15A 120V receptacle. I have a power tool plugged into the receptacle and it draws 13A. It occasionally trips the breaker on start-up or when it is loaded down. I am planning to change the breaker to 20A. The wire is good for this but my question is- Do I have to change the duplex receptacle to a 20A 120V also? I think that I do because the receptacle would be able to provide more than 15A. Am I right? Thanks!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 15A receptacle #42305
09/18/04 08:40 PM
09/18/04 08:40 PM
P
PCBelarge  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
Dobbs Ferry, NY, USA
If this breaker is supplying a single receptacle, than the receptacle has to be rated the same as the branch circuit that supplies it (210.21(B)(1).


210.21(B)(3) Table - shows that a 15 ampere rated receptacle can be supplied by a 20 ampere circuit. Provided there is more than one receptacle on that circuit.

Remember that a 20 ampere circuit requires a 12 AWG conductor. See 240.4(D).

Pierre

[This message has been edited by PCBelarge (edited 09-18-2004).]


Pierre Belarge
Re: 15A receptacle #42306
09/18/04 08:45 PM
09/18/04 08:45 PM
E
Electric Ian  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 133
MA, USA
210.21(B)(1)
Single Receptacle on an Individual Branch Circuit.
A single receptacle installed on an individual branch circuit shall have an ampere rating not less than that of the branch circuit.

Re: 15A receptacle #42307
09/18/04 09:09 PM
09/18/04 09:09 PM
E
Electric Eagle  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
Alpharetta, GA
If the 15amp receptacle is a duplex, it is considered 2 receptacles and is allowed on a 20 amp circuit.

Re: 15A receptacle #42308
09/18/04 10:29 PM
09/18/04 10:29 PM
R
russ m  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 169
Burbank,IL,USA
210.21 would require the use of a 20amp device.

I guess this answer is just redundant.

[This message has been edited by russ m (edited 09-18-2004).]

Re: 15A receptacle #42309
09/19/04 01:38 AM
09/19/04 01:38 AM
F
frank  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 376
windsor ontario canada
According to my CCS inspector the receptical must be rated for the breaker size.Started in the 98 code book i think.A T-slot recpiical rated at 20 amps is the only device they allow here in Ontario and its all you can do if you want to use 15a rated equipment on a 20a circuit.This is for Canada and i knew from the question you were another Canuk. Also at 80% rating 12 amps is the max allowable current draw on a 15 amp breaker according to code so the tool should be factory wired with 20A cord cap if its CSA.

[This message has been edited by frank (edited 09-19-2004).]

Re: 15A receptacle #42310
09/19/04 10:35 AM
09/19/04 10:35 AM
A
Active 1  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
It was my understanding that 210-21 refers to a SINGLE receptical not a DUPLEX receptical. Single = 1 receptical, duplex = 2 recepticals. I guess it is also a local interpitation thing.

I'm for 20A recepticalss on all 20A circuits. I would spend the extra $1 or so because you are getting a better device.

Tom

Re: 15A receptacle #42311
09/19/04 10:40 AM
09/19/04 10:40 AM
R
RobbieD  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Thanks guys! I will replace the breaker and receptacle both will be 20A.

Re: 15A receptacle #42312
09/19/04 11:07 AM
09/19/04 11:07 AM
C
CJS  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
Sanford,NC, USA
One more thing (I don't know if anyone said this or not):

Your max load on a 15A circuit is 80% or 12A. If you exceed that, the breaker will likely trip (or even if you get close to 12A).
Your max load on a 20A crkt is 16Amps.

This is a general rule and some exceptions can apply.

What you are doing is providing 125% for continuos duty (longer than 3 hours) and also you are building in a safety precaution by only going 80% as required in art. 220.

Anything at or near 12A requires a 20A circuit.

Re: 15A receptacle #42313
09/19/04 12:24 PM
09/19/04 12:24 PM
R
Ron  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 582
White Plains, NY
CJS, a good reference to backup your theory is 210.23(A)(1)


Ron
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
256,968 Are you busy
192,848 Re: Forum
182,467 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 1.0236 MB (Peak: 1.1997 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-07-16 08:16:54 UTC