ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by electure - 11/26/20 08:45 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:52 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
15A receptacle #42304 09/18/04 07:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
I have a 15A breaker supplying a 15A 120V receptacle. I have a power tool plugged into the receptacle and it draws 13A. It occasionally trips the breaker on start-up or when it is loaded down. I am planning to change the breaker to 20A. The wire is good for this but my question is- Do I have to change the duplex receptacle to a 20A 120V also? I think that I do because the receptacle would be able to provide more than 15A. Am I right? Thanks!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 15A receptacle #42305 09/18/04 07:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
P
PCBelarge Offline
Member
If this breaker is supplying a single receptacle, than the receptacle has to be rated the same as the branch circuit that supplies it (210.21(B)(1).


210.21(B)(3) Table - shows that a 15 ampere rated receptacle can be supplied by a 20 ampere circuit. Provided there is more than one receptacle on that circuit.

Remember that a 20 ampere circuit requires a 12 AWG conductor. See 240.4(D).

Pierre

[This message has been edited by PCBelarge (edited 09-18-2004).]


Pierre Belarge
Re: 15A receptacle #42306 09/18/04 07:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 133
E
Electric Ian Offline
Member
210.21(B)(1)
Single Receptacle on an Individual Branch Circuit.
A single receptacle installed on an individual branch circuit shall have an ampere rating not less than that of the branch circuit.

Re: 15A receptacle #42307 09/18/04 08:09 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
E
Electric Eagle Offline
Member
If the 15amp receptacle is a duplex, it is considered 2 receptacles and is allowed on a 20 amp circuit.

Re: 15A receptacle #42308 09/18/04 09:29 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 169
R
russ m Offline
Member
210.21 would require the use of a 20amp device.

I guess this answer is just redundant.

[This message has been edited by russ m (edited 09-18-2004).]

Re: 15A receptacle #42309 09/19/04 12:38 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 376
F
frank Offline
Member
According to my CCS inspector the receptical must be rated for the breaker size.Started in the 98 code book i think.A T-slot recpiical rated at 20 amps is the only device they allow here in Ontario and its all you can do if you want to use 15a rated equipment on a 20a circuit.This is for Canada and i knew from the question you were another Canuk. Also at 80% rating 12 amps is the max allowable current draw on a 15 amp breaker according to code so the tool should be factory wired with 20A cord cap if its CSA.

[This message has been edited by frank (edited 09-19-2004).]

Re: 15A receptacle #42310 09/19/04 09:35 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Active 1 Offline
Member
It was my understanding that 210-21 refers to a SINGLE receptical not a DUPLEX receptical. Single = 1 receptical, duplex = 2 recepticals. I guess it is also a local interpitation thing.

I'm for 20A recepticalss on all 20A circuits. I would spend the extra $1 or so because you are getting a better device.

Tom

Re: 15A receptacle #42311 09/19/04 09:40 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
R
RobbieD Offline OP
Member
Thanks guys! I will replace the breaker and receptacle both will be 20A.

Re: 15A receptacle #42312 09/19/04 10:07 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
C
CJS Offline
Member
One more thing (I don't know if anyone said this or not):

Your max load on a 15A circuit is 80% or 12A. If you exceed that, the breaker will likely trip (or even if you get close to 12A).
Your max load on a 20A crkt is 16Amps.

This is a general rule and some exceptions can apply.

What you are doing is providing 125% for continuos duty (longer than 3 hours) and also you are building in a safety precaution by only going 80% as required in art. 220.

Anything at or near 12A requires a 20A circuit.

Re: 15A receptacle #42313 09/19/04 11:24 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 582
R
Ron Offline
Member
CJS, a good reference to backup your theory is 210.23(A)(1)


Ron
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,961 Are you busy
205,849 Re: Forum
193,925 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3