ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Look at this mess...
by InspectorE - 10/27/20 09:09 PM
Unusual Well Pump Switch Failure
by InspectorE - 10/27/20 09:01 PM
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
fill factor in a box #42232 09/17/04 08:18 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 49
T
tomselectrc Offline OP
Member
do'es a gfi plug change the fill factor in a box

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: fill factor in a box #42233 09/17/04 09:18 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Ryan_J Offline
Moderator
No. Each yoke or strap counts as two conductors, regardless of its physical size.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Re: fill factor in a box #42234 09/17/04 09:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 840
C
CTwireman Offline
Member
It is always a wise idea to use a deep box for GFIs, dimmers, etc.

I wonder why the code doesn't address the extra space that GFIs take up??

Peter


Peter
Re: fill factor in a box #42235 09/17/04 09:38 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 33
J
Jacuzzi Guy Electric Offline
Member
If the box is too small. Theres is always the GFI Breaker. No space problems there [Linked Image]

Re: fill factor in a box #42236 09/18/04 02:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
GFCI breaker.

Higher cost, more likely to trip from cumulative leakage currents and you have to go find it if it trips.

I will stick with a GFCI outlets in deep boxes at the point of use. [Linked Image]

The majority of our prints require GFCI outlets at each location that needs GFCI protection. [Linked Image]

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: fill factor in a box #42237 09/18/04 11:05 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
C
CJS Offline
Member
Yeah, that's the other thing: GFI's in standard boxes.
It's a good idea to use a larger box but not mandatory. Most of us will learn by experience in this regard because you will often have a ground fault after cramming all of that into the box!

We don't need the NEC to dictate our every move do we? That book keeps getting thicker & thicker as it is...

Anyone who has ever installed a GFI receptacle in a standard sized weather-proof box knows that if you have more than one cable entering the box you will have one helluva time getting that receptacle into the box. And so you add a weather-proof extension ring and you're good to go.
Same with an indoor box: Use a 20.5 cu. in. or even a 22 cu. in. if you have more than one romex to contend with. You'll be glad you do at trim-out.

:~)


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
271,021 Are you busy
205,021 Re: Forum
193,132 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3