ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Back From Retirement
by Bill Addiss - 08/16/22 09:19 AM
Upside Down ThreeWay
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:30 AM
Load Calcs for EVs and RVs
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:24 AM
Wiring method choice
by HotLine1 - 08/10/22 03:39 PM
NEC- 314.23 (H) (1)
by renosteinke - 08/10/22 11:13 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#42232 09/17/04 08:18 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 49
T
Member
do'es a gfi plug change the fill factor in a box

#42233 09/17/04 09:18 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
No. Each yoke or strap counts as two conductors, regardless of its physical size.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#42234 09/17/04 09:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 840
C
Member
It is always a wise idea to use a deep box for GFIs, dimmers, etc.

I wonder why the code doesn't address the extra space that GFIs take up??

Peter


Peter
#42235 09/17/04 09:38 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 33
J
Member
If the box is too small. Theres is always the GFI Breaker. No space problems there [Linked Image]

#42236 09/18/04 02:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
GFCI breaker.

Higher cost, more likely to trip from cumulative leakage currents and you have to go find it if it trips.

I will stick with a GFCI outlets in deep boxes at the point of use. [Linked Image]

The majority of our prints require GFCI outlets at each location that needs GFCI protection. [Linked Image]

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#42237 09/18/04 11:05 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
C
CJS Offline
Member
Yeah, that's the other thing: GFI's in standard boxes.
It's a good idea to use a larger box but not mandatory. Most of us will learn by experience in this regard because you will often have a ground fault after cramming all of that into the box!

We don't need the NEC to dictate our every move do we? That book keeps getting thicker & thicker as it is...

Anyone who has ever installed a GFI receptacle in a standard sized weather-proof box knows that if you have more than one cable entering the box you will have one helluva time getting that receptacle into the box. And so you add a weather-proof extension ring and you're good to go.
Same with an indoor box: Use a 20.5 cu. in. or even a 22 cu. in. if you have more than one romex to contend with. You'll be glad you do at trim-out.

:~)


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 6
Popular Topics(Views)
295,111 Are you busy
226,711 Re: Forum
211,866 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5