ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 12/01/20 03:44 AM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:12 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:04 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:00 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 19 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
clamp meters #42109 09/16/04 07:53 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 138
R
royta Offline OP
Member
I recently bought a Fluke 322 clamp meter. So far, I haven't been all that impressed. Sure it takes amp readings just fine, that is if I can fit if over the wire. If you hold the meter with the display facing you, the depth of clamps are too deep. The majority of work I'm doing right now is residential remodel. So far, I haven't seen a single panel that was not a meter socket load center types. So the amount of visible wire feeding the main breaker is short. Obviously the two feeds are close together as they are landed onto a 2-pole main breaker. Because of the extra thick clamps, it is very difficult to get a 322 meter around the feeds.

Can anybody suggest a reasonably priced clamp meter that will more easily fit around very close together feed wires?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: clamp meters #42110 09/17/04 12:09 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 33
C
Crowbar Offline
Member
How about a Fluke T5? Its current probe is open ended taking a 1/2" diameter conductor for $80-$120 depending (600 vs 1000). And its rated for 100A.

[This message has been edited by Crowbar (edited 09-17-2004).]

Re: clamp meters #42111 09/17/04 12:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
C
CJS Offline
Member
Ideal makes a decent multimeter that reads up to 200 Amps. It also reads ac and dc voltages, different resistance values and continuity. It's all digital (as most things are today). $99.00. Not bad.

Re: clamp meters #42112 09/17/04 02:31 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 376
F
frank Offline
Member
I have the old fluke 36 for a power meter.After looking for a meter that had the options of a bench meter with a clamp on for months i ended up with an amprobe pro 10 It does everything i need for both industrial and residential.The fluke t-5 is nice but i can't check coils over 1000 ohm and the fork is still too big.Check out the meter section and here on the ECN start page.I still think fluke is better built but they don't seem to have an all in one meter. https://www.electrical-contractor.net/The_Store/Amprobe.htm

[This message has been edited by frank (edited 09-17-2004).]

Re: clamp meters #42113 09/17/04 07:59 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 138
R
royta Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the responses. I do already have a T5-600 that I bought several years ago. Unfortunately, it doesn't take much of a service before the wire is too large for the fork. And as Frank said, the overall width of the fork is too much, so it is practically impossible to measure feeder wire that is landed on a main breaker. The two feeders are just too close together.

Years ago, I did have an analog Amprobe. I believe an RS-3. Each clamp was only about 1/2" by 1/2", so you could squeeze the clamp into very tight places, but still fit large wire. I really liked it, but it belonged to my boss, so it didn't come with me. The local wholesale house didn't have Amprobe, only the Fluke and Ideal. I wish I would have picked up on the negative aspect of having too large of a clamp before I spent $100 on the 322.

Re: clamp meters #42114 09/21/04 12:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 394
B
Big Jim Offline
Member
Because I do a lot of automotive electrical, I bought a meter from AutoMeter. Is is a full function, auto-ranging digital multimeter and a clamp-on that measures both AC and DC amps. The clamp jaws are much smaller than most - they will circle a max of 1 or 1 1/4 " OD wire. It has a peak hold function so you don't necessairly need to see the face when you measure. It was a bit pricey at over $200 but it is remarkably versetile.
Not a clamp-on but I bought a handful of the Harbor Freight $5 digital multimeters and scattered them around. Every car, the motorhome, the shop, the kitchen all have meters for a quickie.

Re: clamp meters #42115 09/21/04 02:20 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
I have 5 DECENT MM and clamp-on's. ( they go missing, a then I get a new one, and find them again... lucky me!) And one radio shack wallet modellMM, $10! (never lost once)Just AC,DC,and ohms. But remarkably acuurate for all! (surprisingly so...)
--------------------------------
Also own a 322, not bad, advertised as the "tightest clamp-on", had a 333, an older model (Grey and red), that had thinner jaws, much easier than navigating the 322 into tight places.

[This message has been edited by e57 (edited 09-21-2004).]


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: clamp meters #42116 09/21/04 07:32 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
N
NJ Wireman Offline
Member
Looks like ideal does it again, was just checking out there web page and say a add for octoberfest it cought my eye, i then say the tester there showing it has a display on the bottom of it to be veiwed when in tight spaces. Could it poss. be someone actually thought about use for once. http://www.idealindustries.com/tm/index.htm


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 17
Popular Topics(Views)
272,170 Are you busy
206,058 Re: Forum
194,072 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3