ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do You Wrap Your Receptacles?
by gfretwell - 02/20/24 10:48 PM
Cable Chase Code Requirement
by renosteinke - 02/16/24 07:00 PM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 02/16/24 10:37 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by gfretwell - 02/08/24 07:28 AM
Is this really a thing
by renosteinke - 02/07/24 01:15 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 44 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#42033 09/15/04 05:48 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
B
bot540 Offline OP
Member
Do you think its a bad idea to use a 1900 and extension box for second floor homeruns? The guy I used to work for would often do this in two or three of the switches so he could come out the top of it 6 times instead of 3.


Jesus may have been a capenter,but God was an electrician.Genesis1:3
#42034 09/15/04 06:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
Member
I have never had the need to do something like that but as long as you can maintain the required 1-1/4" for the cables from the face of the studs, the required conductor length in the box and the box fill I see no problem.

-Hal

#42035 09/15/04 07:55 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
My old shop used to used deep 1900's instead for all the HR's, with 3/4" (EMT) to the panel.

#42036 09/15/04 08:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Member
What is a 1900 box. I see you guys mention it all the time.

Edward


Thanks
Edward
#42037 09/15/04 09:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 66
C
Member
a 1900 box is the most common type of electrical box. you can fit 2 switches or outlets in it.

#42038 09/15/04 10:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Member
Quote
What is a 1900 box. I see you guys mention it all the time..
... Edward, a "1900" box gets it's name from a Raco manufactured 4"X4"X 1-1/2" metal box..their item/model # is 190,...hence the term "1900"...
Russ

[This message has been edited by Attic Rat (edited 09-15-2004).]


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
#42039 09/15/04 10:27 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Member
I thought the 1900 was in reference to 19.00 cubic inches, but it's actually more than that.

Dave

#42040 09/15/04 10:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Member
In other words it is a shallow 4S box.
Right?


Thanks
Edward
#42041 09/15/04 10:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Member
Bot540,
why not use a 5s deep box?

Edward


Thanks
Edward
#42042 09/19/04 06:47 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
C
CJS Offline
Member
The topic is "residential" homeruns: Why would anyone want to use a metal box in residential? It seems like a BIG waste of money to me...

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC + Exam Prep Study Guides Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
maxecn 5
Admin 3
Popular Topics(Views)
317,848 Are you busy
242,682 Re: Forum
226,713 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5