ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 17 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#41637 09/03/04 11:35 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
We have a Gazebo (concrete slab approx. 50x20) to wire that will have few lights and receptacles. It will be used for people to have parties, BBQS, etc. To stay code compliant, is it OK to run 2 - 20 amp ckts. out to the structure, or do I have to install a 2ckt. sub-panel at the structure. All sides are open on this patio and the breaker panel that I will run the ckts. from is approx. 50' away. I was going to go with a sub- panel, and another Elec. said I did not need it. Thanks for the input.

#41638 09/03/04 11:51 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 141
A
Member
If you run a multi-wire circuit (i.e., an Edison ckt--two hots off diff. legs & a neutral), there's no need for a subpanel. And of course you need an equipment grounding conductor. So some 12/3 wg UF will do the trick, or bk, red, wht, grn THHW in pipe.

Cliff

#41639 09/03/04 01:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
I plan on running seperate nuetrals. One ckt. for the lights, one for the outlets. When I was going through the code, in the ground section with diffrent buildings, structures, etc., I was getting into the panel idea, but it sounds like it's not required.

#41640 09/03/04 02:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
I strongly suggest the use of the multiwire branch circuit as amp man suggested, it is better for voltage drop.

Also one multiwire branch circuit will not require a ground rod to be driven at the Gazebo. If you run two - 2 wire circuits you must drive a ground rod and connect it to the EGC at the gazebo. 250.32(A) be sure to read the exception.

You will also need disconnects at the gazebo for the circuits you run out there. 225.31

This could be one double pole switch or two single pole switches.

Good Luck, Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,423
Joined: July 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,533 Are you busy
228,344 Re: Forum
213,223 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5