ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#41254 08/23/04 02:59 PM
G
Anybody re wired an old house from knob and tube to romex,to me it looks just about impossible without bashing the walls down.Being a commercial electrician i have no experience doing this and i know in my area there is lots of this work.Talking to various trades they tell me the electricians accomplish this feat of magic with little damage to the walls.Are they telling me the truth?Any tips?

#41255 08/23/04 03:30 PM
E
I would minimize the damage by fishing the rope independently of the K&T, abandoning the K&T in the walls, and removing every inch of it that was exposed. I would also re-use the bored holes where I could, one rope to a hole.

Don't believe the other trades, there is always a lot of patch work to be done.

Minimize it by cutting your holes behind the baseboard when you can, and re-using the receptacles and switch openings when you can.

Earl
#41256 08/23/04 06:03 PM
D