ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by junkcollector - 06/20/21 08:50 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 7 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#39938 07/08/04 02:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 21
K
Kennyvp Offline OP
Member
a home insp. just caught this on a insp of a property i have. the elect. stove is on a allm 6/2 wire with a 30 amp breaker. the stove requires 40 amps! however he is requiring the wire be changed not just the breaker. he wants 8/3 copper on a 40 amp breaker is this needed or can i just cahnge the breaker/ also can some one tell me the code number for amp ratins on allm wire?

#39939 07/08/04 03:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
Member
6AWG AL has a 60C rating of 40A. I assume you mean type SE cable. If NM is used it will need to be 6/3.


John
#39940 07/08/04 04:16 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
you would need 8/3 becuase the 6/2 doesn't have a ground. You could get away with 3 wire in an existing intallation, but if you are changing the breaker, you have to bring the circuit up to code. no grounding with the nuetral anymore. 310-16 has ampacities for al.

#39941 07/08/04 05:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Member
How would a breaker replacement require a new circuit be installed? This is not a new installation. If you do change the wire you will not need to use 6/3 for a 40 amp circuit. 8/3 romex will suffice.

#39942 07/10/04 06:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
Maybe it is a local code, but I was always told that if you touch a circuit, you have to bring it up to current code. I can't find it in the NEC, but if it isn't a code rule, I wonder where it came from? anyone else heard of this?


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 10
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,440 Are you busy
213,522 Re: Forum
200,401 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5