ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/20/21 10:53 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#38759 06/01/04 01:18 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Edward Offline OP
Member
Is replacing two prong outlet with a GFCI really a solution to a non grounding outlet or just a bandaide approach?

I would rather rewire with a grounding then install a GFCI.

What do you fellows think?

Thanks
Edward


Thanks
Edward
#38760 06/01/04 02:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 394
B
Member
Hey, sparky, I got a hundret dollars and this busted plug. Can you fix 'er up?
I don't think there is any question that everyone would prefer to rewire with ground included but the real world doesn't work that way. I've still got 2 strings of 2 prong outlets running downstream from ungrounded GFCIs in my own house. Some day, they'll get replaced but I did all I could before we moved in. With the GFCI, they are a lot safer than they used to be.

#38761 06/01/04 08:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 139
B
Member
Most of the general-use equipment being plugged into 15- and 20-ampere receptacles only have two prong attachment plugs anyway, and those that do have 3 prongs don't usually have exposed metallic or grounded parts. Everything is plastic. You really only run into issues with refrigerators and washers.


Bryan P. Holland, ECO.
Secretary - IAEI Florida Chapter
#38762 06/01/04 09:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
250.114 says that you can't use the GFCI method for any of these:
--------------------------------
(3) In residential occupancies:
a. Refrigerators, freezers, and air conditioners
b. Clothes-washing, clothes-drying, dish-washing machines; kitchen waste disposers; information technology equipment; sump pumps and electrical aquarium equipment
c. Hand-held motor-operated tools, stationary and fixed motor-operated tools, light industrial motor-operated tools
d. Motor-operated appliances of the following types: hedge clippers, lawn mowers, snow blowers, and wet scrubbers
e. Portable handlamps


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#38763 06/01/04 09:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Member
Ok Ryan nice point. Now how would you enforce this.

#38764 06/01/04 09:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
How would I enforce it? You act like a permit would be taken out!! [Linked Image] [Linked Image]

Honestly, if I were to run into this in the feild as an inspector I would give the owner the list I provided and say "here you go"! If they violated it and something bad happened it would be assumption of risk on their behalf and not negligence on mine. [Linked Image]


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#38765 06/02/04 02:50 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,492
T
Member
Hey Ryan, in practice most of the stuff you mentioned is actually double-insulated, so it wouldn't even matter to connect it withouzt a GFI. A ground is definitely _not_ necessary for technical reasons. Where would it go with a 2-prong plug? IT equipment does need a ground, both because it often comes in metal enclosures and for static discharge. For the latter reason an ungrounded GFI is not good for this kind of equipment.

#38766 06/02/04 06:25 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Actually most of the stuff in that is not double insulated.

Quote
Refrigerators, freezers, and air conditioners Clothes-washing, clothes-drying, dish-washing machines; kitchen waste disposers; information technology equipment; sump pumps

I have never seen double insulated versions of the items on that list.

This is why I do not think replacing a two wire outlet with a 3 wire one is the best move.

My choice would be a GFCI breaker and leave the two wire outlets.

The GFCI breaker would help when they use a 'cheater' adapter. [Linked Image]

Ryan, you do not pull a permit when you plug in your appliances? [Linked Image]

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#38767 06/02/04 09:32 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,492
T
Member
iwire, a and b not, but c to d are IMHO mostly double-isolated (not necessarily all of c, only handheld). At any rate a GFI is good with that stuff.

#38768 06/03/04 08:48 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Member
... At this juncture,I have to pose a question.. I'd heard that GFCI's as a rule "don't like" motor loads,ie;...Refrigerator compressors,washing machine
motors,..etc,because they "see" the start up windings as a short,and result in nuisance tripping..is this true..??
Russ


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The Watt Doctor
The Watt Doctor
Mont Belvieu, TX
Posts: 437
Joined: December 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 10
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,448 Are you busy
213,527 Re: Forum
200,406 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5