ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:35 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 12 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#37814 05/07/04 05:49 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 246
R
rmiell Offline OP
Member
This may be a dumb question, but I guess I have not thought about it before.

Can I put a regular incandescent lamp (120v, 100watts) on a 125vdc circuit?

I looked quickly through a couple of lamp catalogs, and did not find any DC rated lamps, the voltage rating were just listed as 120v, or 12v.


thanks

Rick Miell

#37815 05/07/04 07:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 66
C
Member
yes, you can put a standard bulb on that circuit. however, you may wish to use "commercial" 130V bulbs rather than 120V bulbs since your circuit is 125V

#37816 05/08/04 12:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
Incandescent lamps run fine on DC. One hitch though—most flush toggle switches are AC only. For tungsten-lamp switching, a DC {“T”} tungsten-rated switch is needed. They make plenty of racket during operation …none of that quiet AC-only stuff. They are listed as AC-DC General Use Snap Switches — UL Guide WJQR.

#37817 05/08/04 11:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
Rick.

most indscent lamps can run on dc with out any troble but bear in mind that the dc verison will run slightly dimmer but not a whole alot but bulb life will be little longer too also.. i am not sure if you know this or not when bulb fail they do flash over pretty good btw just like 277 volts ac bulbs go out simuir idea so i dont know but i will guess you allready knew this or not put a over current device there to prevent serouis arc falut.

as far for switch use the genral usage snap switch .

merci , marc

p.s. i did work on one tug boat before it ran everything on dc before so i got pretty good idea how it react with it .


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

#37818 05/09/04 04:51 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Filament lamps run on DC just fine, and if connected to a 125V DC supply you will obtain the same amount of illumination as on a 125V RMS AC supply.

Switches need to be the "quick-break" type for DC operation. The common "tumbler" switches used in this country when DC supplies were common employed a spring-action contact and opened and closed with a really noticeable clunk. The quiet AC-only switches will end up with burned contacts if used on DC.

#37819 05/09/04 08:37 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Member
Will these switches work too?

[Linked Image from joetedesco.com]


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
#37820 05/10/04 01:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 246
R
rmiell Offline OP
Member
Ok, Thanks guys.

These lamps will be run thru a contactor, so switching will not cause a problem.

I knew you guys would give me a straight answer!!!!

Rick Miell

#37821 05/11/04 11:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
M
Member
Joe, what were you doing at my mother's house? [Linked Image]

She still has a few of those and they work like brand new. Amazing, for being 80 years old now.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 14
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,390 Are you busy
213,461 Re: Forum
200,378 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5