ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
What does your work place look like?
by HotLine1 - 11/23/20 03:35 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Lostazhell - 11/21/20 04:17 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/21/20 02:47 AM
Work Gloves?
by gfretwell - 11/20/20 10:17 PM
Reverse-feeding transformer in PV system?
by winnie - 11/19/20 06:49 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (HotLine1), 18 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ELECTRICAL BID MANAGER BY INFOSOFT #37626 04/30/04 06:34 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 8
J
jimmyinanniston Offline OP
Junior Member
Has anyone used the electrical bid manager estimating software by infosoft? If so how do you rate this product?


jimmy w. brown
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: ELECTRICAL BID MANAGER BY INFOSOFT #37627 05/02/04 10:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Jps1006 Offline
Member
I sat through a one day seminar on how to use it and purchased it. I thought it looked like a decent piece of software. I haven't used (and should have returned when I could have) because I realized my company was losing money with the way I was running it and decided to change my focus from trying to land larger commercial work to scaling down and becoming more efficient.

I can't say if the learning curve was too large compared to other software. It would be great if I was a full time estimator. I bought the little scale roller that plugs into the USB. The only thing is, you'd have to take a couple of jobs you've already tracked and job-costed, and plug them in to see how it compared to the software as far as percentage mark-ups and profit. Once some of the variables got dialed in to where you are used to, it could be useful, but I would only recommend if you are going to be doing ALOT of bidding.

The other thing, I was not used to bidding so methodically like the software demands. (counting every pipe run, every conductor, every strap, every fitting). I guess it's not a bad way to go, I just hadn't done it that way in the past. But if I had mastered the software, it does make it easy to split the job into gear, fixtures (or luminares), etc.. You don't have to use it the way it wants to be used.

Also, it allows you to break the job out and look at different ways once you've done all the input.

Hope this helps. good luck

Re: ELECTRICAL BID MANAGER BY INFOSOFT #37628 05/03/04 10:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 642
N
nesparky Offline
Member
I have and use this software for my bidding. It took a while to get the pricing to reflect my actual costs. You will need to check every material cost item in your first few bids to get all the conduit, fittings, and hardware to reflect your actual costs. In my area the costs in the origional package were almost double what I was actually paying. This created estimate that were way too high. You also need to update your costs regularly. If used carefully you can get quite useful estimates. The break outs can show you where you need to improve the estimate vs actual costs during a project.
This program does take some time to set up properly for your company and it does take some time for periodic updates to material and labor costs. It has given me accurate estimates and fair docemuntation of the estimate when needed.
I'll keep it


ed

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,880 Are you busy
205,739 Re: Forum
193,850 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3