ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:35 PM
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:25 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#37146 04/22/04 03:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
J
Joey D Offline OP
Member
How do you guys feel about installing a sub panel in the attic as opposed to the basement? It's for the 2nd floor addition and it's in a full walk up attic.

#37147 04/22/04 04:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
if you put the sub panel in attic space i really don't think it is a very wise idea at all because the tempture changes and humity involed in there and what more if the repair person do come in the house to find the subfeed some will not able to located that in attic ..

the other point the attic during summer time can get very hot in there and cause the breaker to kick out early than it should be and the tempeture in attic can go much as 140 degress which it can make the breaker kick out early pretty easy.

the other thing is in the attic is dust from insluation i am sure about this but some kind of insluation can be dangerous and if dust built up on the breaker it can prevent from tripping at all.

in my option i rather stay away from attic space for subfeed much as you can for few reasons as i say above there and the other part is if the power for sub feed go dead how the heck you will find it if you tie the attic light up there with subfeed circuit .

i am sure few other sparkys will say the same answer as i saying in here .

use the common sense to put the subfeed box

merci, marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

#37148 04/22/04 04:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
I'm with Marc on this one. Putting the sub panel in the attic means having to search for it if you're the spark who get called in later.

#37149 04/22/04 05:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
E
Member
Don't forget about 110.26(E)

#37150 04/22/04 06:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 26
R
Member
eprice,

110.26(e) allows an exception for "<i>... panelboards, in existing dwelling units, that do not exceed 200 amps.</i>"

Unless Joey D is planning on one huge subpanel, he should be able to put the sub in the attic - even if the attic ceiling were less than 6 1/2' in height (which it doesn't sound like is the case).

Rob

#37151 04/22/04 09:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 259
J
Joey D Offline OP
Member
I know it's legal to do it. I was just asking preference. This would be the 1st time I did it and it was mentioned to me by the home owner. Maybe another sparky bid it that way.

#37152 04/23/04 08:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 183
N
Member
I would be concerned about the ambient temps in the summer. As for people not knowing to look for it there, you could always label the feed breaker in the main panel "Subpanel for 2nd floor, located in attic", though of course most of them just get labeled "subpanel" :-)


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,407
Joined: July 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,355 Are you busy
213,429 Re: Forum
200,352 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5