ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by electure - 11/26/20 08:45 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:52 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
GFI 15 or 20a #36488 04/08/04 01:18 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
A
aldav53 Offline OP
Member
The new Leviton GFI recepts that come in a 3 pack at Home Depot are marked 15a on the box and 20a on the GFI recept. Assume the box is wrong??


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36489 04/08/04 01:38 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 333
S
stamcon Offline
Member
The receptacle itself is rated for 15A with a 20A feed through rating, unless the receptacle slots are designed to accept a 20A plug.


Steve
Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36490 04/08/04 01:40 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
E
eswets Offline
Member
A 15a GFCI is rated for 20a feed though. The rec is only rated at 15a but you can feed a 20a circuit (down range) though that 15a GFCI

Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36491 04/08/04 08:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
This is no different than a standard 15 amp duplex receptacle.

Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36492 04/08/04 08:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Ryan_J Offline
Moderator
Wouldn't you be able to tell from whether or not the nuetral has a horizontal slot on the face?


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36493 04/08/04 02:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 840
C
CTwireman Offline
Member
Ryan, good point! [Linked Image]

There is one difference that Scott did not point out (but I'm sure he knows), a 15 amp receptacle isn't marked "20 amp feed through" like the GFI is.


Peter
Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36494 04/09/04 12:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
A
aldav53 Offline OP
Member
No they don't have the extra slot, but it does say 20 amp on the GFI - not 20 amp feed through.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36495 04/09/04 09:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
P
PCBelarge Offline
Member
210.21(B)(3) Receptacle Ratings for Various Size Circuits.

this is one of the reasons you have the markings on the GFCIs that are in question.

Pierre


Pierre Belarge
Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36496 04/10/04 06:20 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
electricman2 Offline
Member
If it doesn't have the horizontal slot, it is not a 5-20R (20A) receptacle. [Linked Image]


John
Re: GFI 15 or 20a #36497 04/10/04 11:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
A
aldav53 Offline OP
Member
Having the slot I believe means a 20a ckt and used as a dedicated circuit.
These GFI's do not have the slot, but are marked 20 amp.


The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,961 Are you busy
205,849 Re: Forum
193,925 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3