ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/27/20 06:18 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/26/20 08:52 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 12 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
circuit tracers #36450 04/07/04 08:38 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
R
Rob Offline OP
Member
Had a 1970's ranch home with no power to the bedroom outlets,that were NOT fed from the basement.Turned out an outside outlet had
bad connections.Thing is this outlet was on the other end of the home!
Is there a good circuit tracer that senses
through drywall? I wasted alot of time using
my Fluke Meter trouble shooting this problem.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: circuit tracers #36451 04/07/04 04:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 47
F
fla sparkey Offline
Member
Rob:
I have a Greenlee #2007 circuit tracer I keep in my truck for just these kind of problems. I have used this model for about 5 years and it works good. I have even located cable buried underground 30" deep. It saves me a lot of time in these situations. I will admit it is a little pricey though, about $390 list at Grainger.

Re: circuit tracers #36452 04/07/04 07:18 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
NJwirenut Offline
Member
A somewhat cheaper (but less capable) alternative is a toner and probe set used for telecommunications work. I use a Harris Pro2000:
http://www.sacramentoelectronics.com/harris/pro2000.html

Kill the power, and clip the toner on one end of the run you want to trace. The probe can then follow the wire through standard walls, floors, and ceilings with little problem. Works best with NM and K+T, but with earphones or a quiet work area you can trace BX or MC runs. Metal conduit it can't do, unfortunately.

Re: circuit tracers #36453 04/07/04 10:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
DougW Offline
Member
I use an Ideal ABS (Almost Butt Set) 62-180 tester, with a signal probe built in. I was able to find hidden (plastered over)sconce boxes with soldered clusters in them by attaching my signal generator to the old wires and moving the probe end over the wall in the general area where I figured the sconces would be.

Listened for the increase in volume (due to the clusters of wires) and popped a hole. Presto.

Also have used a 61-510 type "circuit identifier" that works reasonable well, but requires some fine tuning occasionally.

Tried to link just to the products, but try this instead:
http://www.idealindustries.com/index.htm

The ABS is under Products>Datacomm/LANTEK
The Circuit Identifier is under http://www.idealindustries.com/tm/ElectricalTesters.nsf/ElectricalTesters?OpenFrameSet


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
272,009 Are you busy
205,897 Re: Forum
193,951 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3