ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
FPE sub-panel #36023 03/27/04 08:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
J
jsimontucson Offline OP
Junior Member
I recently purchased a house that I am fixing up for resale. I upgraded the service to 200amps and installed new main distribution panel. Approx 70% of the house has been rewired and is being fed by the new panel. Six existing 20 amp circuits are being fed by a federal pacific sub-panel.

For obvious reasons I want to replace the FPE Panel. I want to run these six circuits back to my new main panel rather than replacing the sub-panel. The new panel located 20’ away on the exterior of the house.

I would delete the sub-panel, splice the conductors and run them to the new panel in 1’ EMT

Here are the questions:

Can I just run # 12 THHN for each of these circuits or do I need to derate?

Are there any other pitfalls to this plan??

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: FPE sub-panel #36024 03/27/04 11:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Jps1006 Offline
Member
I see no problem with that plan as long as you'll have a total of 9 wires (2 hots to 1 neutral). I've seen some people here call them edison circuits. NEC calls them multiwire branch circuits and where I come from they call them networks.

If you aren't familiar with these types of circuits and the hazards of wiring them incorrectly then don't do it. You would need (12) wires in which case you'd need to derate.

BTW you could fit those in 3/4" EMT.

Re: FPE sub-panel #36025 03/28/04 10:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 91
R
rizer Offline
Member
i would also add a ground wire for the circuits and pigtail a jumper the junction box(if metal). i'm not sure if one ground wire would be enough for all 6 circuits

Re: FPE sub-panel #36026 03/28/04 10:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
The extra ground wire is really not necessary, but couldn't hurt.
One ground wire would be enough for 6 circuits or 60 circuits.

Re: FPE sub-panel #36027 03/28/04 08:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Attic Rat Offline
Member
... Even if he pulls (9) wires in that pipe, doesn't he still have to derate,being that there are more than (3)current carrying conductors in that raceway???
Russ


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
Re: FPE sub-panel #36028 03/28/04 08:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Jps1006 Offline
Member
I don't have this suff memorized but I'll have a go...
3-6 80%
7-9 70%
10- ?? 50%

but table 310-16 says # 12 copper thhn is rated for 30 amps. meaning you can put (30 amps times 70% = 21 amps) 21 amps.

The note at the bottom the table is for overcurrent protection.

NEC 99

Okay I did have to look up the table.

Re: FPE sub-panel #36029 03/28/04 08:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
C
caselec Offline
Member
Attic Rat

You are correct. If these circuits are multi-wire circuits the neutrals don’t need to be counted but there will still be 6 current caring conductors. The ampacity of #12 THHN is 30 amps and table 310.15(B)(2)(a) specifies 80% adjustment factor for 4-6 conductors. This would result in the #12 THHN conductors having an ampacity of 24 amps. If these wires are installed in wet locations the starting ampacity of #12 THWN in 25 amps which after applying would result with an ampacity of 20 amps.

Curt


Curt Swartz
Re: FPE sub-panel #36030 03/28/04 08:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Attic Rat Offline
Member
...Thanx guys,.. [Linked Image] [Linked Image]

Jsimontucson,..watch your phasing when using (1)neutral per (2)hots...make sure that each corresponding phase conductor lands on a different phase...otherwise unfavorable imbalances on the neutral leg will result in overheating the neutral..Just group your breakers accordingly..."A" phase for one phase conductor,..and "B" phase for the other, and land the neutral normally..
Russ


[This message has been edited by Attic Rat (edited 03-28-2004).]


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
Re: FPE sub-panel #36031 03/29/04 12:54 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
C
classicsat Offline
Member
Why not run ONE neutral, and ONE ground, using the stock neutral and ground bussbars in the original panel? (of course, the neutral appropriately sized)

Re: FPE sub-panel #36032 03/29/04 10:50 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
J
jsimontucson Offline OP
Junior Member
Thank you all verry much for your help.



[This message has been edited by jsimontucson (edited 03-29-2004).]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 1
Popular Topics(Views)
271,002 Are you busy
205,005 Re: Forum
193,123 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3