ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by HotLine1 - 12/04/20 01:09 PM
Thought this was funny
by HotLine1 - 12/04/20 12:55 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:11 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 20 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
How do you install boxes? #36011 03/27/04 07:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Edward Offline OP
Member
How do you guys install plastic nail on device boxes? And how do you make sure that it lines upperfectly with the drywall(1/2 or 5/8)
Do you measure your height and line up the box then hammer in the nails? Or have other easier methods of doing it?

Ed


Thanks
Edward
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: How do you install boxes? #36012 03/27/04 09:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 76
M
Megawatt Offline
Member
If you are doing an entire house, I would make a "Story Pole" & use it to mark up all of your box locations first.
Most boxes have lines, ridges, or some type of mark for each thickness of sheetrock, so line up the mark with the face of the stud and nail away. I have also kept a small piece(1 1/2 " by 3")of sheetrock in my pocket to hold against the face of the stud while nailing up. A bit awkward, but does work if the marks or ridges aren't easy to see.

Re: How do you install boxes? #36013 03/28/04 09:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 91
R
rizer Offline
Member
the story pole is definetly the way to go:cut a 2x4 to the height of the bottom of your box height; then scab on a piece of plywood the thickness of the drywall in such a way that you can put the story pole against the stud and accomplish both tasks simultaneously.

Re: How do you install boxes? #36014 03/28/04 09:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
For receptacles, I usually use my hammer handle as a gauge. Once I have the box positioned, I clamp it in place with a set of C grips (vice grips with a large C shaped opening).

Don't forget to check if the stud is square with the top & bottom plate. If the stud is twisted, the far side of your box can end up sticking out of the drywall.


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: How do you install boxes? #36015 03/28/04 03:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
J
jbfan Offline
Member
I use a peice of 1/2 inch mdf with a notch cut out to hold the box and then cut to length. As long as the floor is level they all come out the same height. Set it against the stud and nail.


"Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years to late" Jimmy Buffett
Re: How do you install boxes? #36016 03/28/04 04:02 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 680
W
walrus Offline
Member
Carlon makes adjustable boxes, no one uses them???

Re: How do you install boxes? #36017 03/28/04 05:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Edward Offline OP
Member
I have just installed my first CARLON Adj. Boxes. The drywall is not finished yet so i havn't tried them. I think they should work great as far as the depth of the sheetrock.

Edward


Thanks
Edward
Re: How do you install boxes? #36018 03/28/04 06:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Attic Rat Offline
Member
... I use the adjustable boxes when there is sheetrock and tiling involved...just mount the box,..extend it out all the way,let the drywall and tile guy do their thing, then come back and adjust the depth..It makes installing boxes for tiled walls fool-proof..they may cost a little more,but it's sure worth it... [Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image]
Russ

[This message has been edited by Attic Rat (edited 03-28-2004).]


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
Re: How do you install boxes? #36019 03/28/04 07:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 13
J
Jeff N Offline
Member
We use the adjustable boxes for back splash areas and tile, a little expensive to use everywhere. They work great.

Re: How do you install boxes? #36020 03/28/04 07:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Edward Offline OP
Member
But, what is procedure for measuring height and installing/nailing boxes?
Measure line up to the mark then hammer?
I have noticed some people use a self made jig.
How do you make sure that all your boxes are exactly at the same heigh. Especially when you have a tiled kitchen backsplash

Edward


Thanks
Edward
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 20
Popular Topics(Views)
272,236 Are you busy
206,122 Re: Forum
194,115 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3