ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Lowes Selling this fan
by timmp - 07/25/21 10:58 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by djk - 07/23/21 09:13 PM
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by donles - 07/23/21 10:51 AM
Do You Travel?
by Bill Addiss - 07/20/21 04:26 PM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 07/18/21 12:20 PM
New in the Gallery:
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Red Green would be proud
Red Green would be proud
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 20 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#34927 02/28/04 12:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 311
F
Member
In general, what is the typical rating of a residential bathroom jacuzzi? 120 or 240? Amps?
As far as the NEC is concerned I would classify that as a hydromassage tub. Am I correct?

Frank

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 172
W
Member
Frank
The ones I have connected have been mostly 120v with a 20 amp cord connection.

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,039
Likes: 2
Member
Frank,

Nice to hear from you.

As Jacuzzi is a brand name this could be confusing. If it has a heater I'd call it a Spa or Hot Tub. If it's just a Pump with jets then it's a Hydromassage tub.

I've never seen a 240v hydromassage tub. Typical ratings are 15A or 20A @ 120v

Bill


Bill
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
I agree with everyone else, but I would like to add that I see them above 1/2HP on a regular basis. With that in mind, they are required to be on their own circuit.

430.148, 210.23(A)(2)


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 311
F
Member
Thank you. Excellent information as usual.

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Member
We allways run a 20 amp 120v circuit. We did a feew larger ones do require (2)120v circuits because they have seperate pumps and cords that draw too much for (1) 20 amp circuit. I don't remember too many with heaters but I guess that would be a circuit too.

We always put the GFI in the panel. A few places here require that so we do them all that way. Did some that the noodel was shared and the GFI protection was in the bathroom. Having to go back and put it in the panel for the inspector is a big hassel.

This area uses EMT but some towns also want a ground wire pulled from the panel. I don't do that unless I know it is required but I allways leave space in the pipe just in case. Dose anyone pull a ground wire to the tub thru EMT if it's not asked for?

I also see some companies use outdoor bell boxes, compression connectors, etc. to keep things dry. I think that is a bit much but does anyone elce do that? I will keep the box under the tub off the floor with a board but thats it.

Tom

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
Member
The last few I wired I used a blank-face GFI and a toggle switch for a disconnect. (On its own circuit of course.)

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
Active 1 raises a good point. If the water is chlorinated, it {and its vapors} are especially good a dissolving the galvanizing on EMT and the steel underneath. My pre-retirement employer {research facility} required a copper equipment ground in all raceway runs—period. One problem with older electrical components was that ready attachment of the grounding conductor was not always available—you got good at using cutting oil and a 10-32 tap chucked in a drill motor, with the requisite star lockwasher between the enclosure and grounding-conductor attachment.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
On another forum this was posted by someone that owned a Jacuzzi tub, they claimed this was what the instructions said.

Quote

MOTOR/PUMP: 115 VAC, 3450 RPM/7.8 AMP, 60 Hz Single phase.

ELECTRICAL SERVICE REQUIREMENTS:

115 VAC, 15 AMP, 60 Hz. Requires dedicated separate circuit.

Given this infomation would it be correct to feed it with a 20 amp circuit?


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
I wonder why it doesn't give the horsepower rating?


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 7
Rachel 4
Popular Topics(Views)
281,451 Are you busy
215,094 Re: Forum
201,958 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5