ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
grounding bus for ground strap #33017 01/10/04 02:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
C
ComputerWizKid Offline OP
Member
How can I saefly make a direct ground point for my ground strap? I was thinking going to home depot and buying a spare appliance cord. 2. putting heat shrink tubing over the hot and neutral wires 3. putting it in a plastic project box and then soldering the ground wire to a big metal lug for my groung strap to clip on. is this a safe way?


Theres always enough room in the junction box.You just need a bigger hammer
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: grounding bus for ground strap #33018 01/10/04 03:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
DougW Offline
Member
What kind of wiring system do you have in your house/apt?

Have you confirmed that the grounding terminal in your outlets is actually connected to ground?

If it is, and you have metal boxes, I would almost rather ground to a box itself than through a cord, where it relies on a wired connection. You could attach a small piece of copper pipe hanger strap behind the mounting strap of the receptacle, (using the receptacle mounting screws, and trimmed so it doesn't contact anything else, of course), and leave a tail hanging out from under the cover plate to attach your grounding clip to.

Re: grounding bus for ground strap #33019 01/10/04 07:25 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Bjarney Offline
Moderator
Remember that the primary objective is to limit potential difference between you and the static-sensitive components you're working on. "Earth ground" is a secondary concern.

Re: grounding bus for ground strap #33020 01/10/04 09:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
C
ComputerWizKid Offline OP
Member
House was built in the 1800's but completly guted/rewired with 200 AMP service spilt to the six apartments in 1999-2000 Each with its own sub panel


Theres always enough room in the junction box.You just need a bigger hammer
Re: grounding bus for ground strap #33021 01/11/04 01:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 790
W
wa2ise Offline
Member
I'd use a megohm resistor in between the ground and the strap. That way, if you touch something with line voltage on it, you will get less of a shock current thru your body. And the megohm resistor will drain away any static charge.

Re: grounding bus for ground strap #33022 01/11/04 02:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
hbiss Offline
Member
If you are working on a computer or other piece of equipment your wrist strap should have an alligator clip on the cord, simply clip it to the metal case. If you are working at a bench doing something like circuit board work you can connect your wrist strap cord to a receptacle ground using a bananna plug which will fit the in ground terminal ("hole") perfectly. Try Rat Shack not Home Despot.

The wrist strap should already have a high value resister in series with the cord to prevent electrocution.

[This message has been edited by hbiss (edited 01-11-2004).]


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
271,004 Are you busy
205,008 Re: Forum
193,124 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3