ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 12 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#31551 11/25/03 09:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 246
R
rmiell Offline OP
Member
Comments on the following located at a electrical D-I-Y help site. The author wanted to use the exisiting range circuit for a 120v outlet for use by a new gas stove?

"I removed the 220V receptacle and replaced it with a 110V receptacle. I used the black wire as the hot and the white wire as the neutral. I capped the red (hot) wire and left it in the box. It works like a champ.
I have not done anything to the breaker panel yet. It was already too late in the evening to cut the power so I am leaving that part for the morning. I have to take the breaker with me to Home Depot because there are 10 different types of breakers. I will swith the breaker in the morning to the 20A.
Just out of curiosity, why does it matter if I leave the 50A breaker there?? "


Rick Miell

#31552 11/25/03 10:25 AM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
Member
Breaker ratings aside, I would like to know how he terminated the original 50A wiring to a 15 A receptacle.... [Linked Image]

Here is another , even more worrisome attempt at a similar retrofit, from a recent Usenet post:

Quote
I have a 220 knob and tube outlet behind my range I need to convert to
110. The wires are in good condition, there are 6 individual wires on
the hot, 7 on the neutral and 6 on the ground. I spoke to a contractor
and he recommended that I just wirenut off one each of the hots and
neutrals, and connect the rest to a normal plug.

My question is, since there are 6 and 7 wires on the hot and neutral,
respectively, will it work to just wire nut and tape off 3 and 4,
respectively, or does this present problems. If the method above is
completely off-base and unsafe that information would also be helpful.

#31553 11/25/03 10:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,691
S
Member
NJWirenut said:

Quote
Breaker ratings aside, I would like to know how he terminated the original 50A wiring to a 15 A receptacle....

In-wall conductors for 50-amp electric stove circuits are usually stranded right? I'm wondering if the guy actually "trimmed" the conductors by cutting out strands until it was small enough to wrap around the terminal screws of a standard 110-volt socket. [Linked Image]

This is a gas stove the guy is fitting? I'm wondering if the 110-volt 15-amp supply is for the electric "spark plug" type pilots that some stoves are sold with (instead of standard gas pilots).

#31554 11/25/03 12:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Depending on the model of stove, it may need power for lights and a clock as well.

That post about 6 hots and 7 neutrals sounds fascinating. I bet the wiring in that place would make for some interesting ECN threads! [Linked Image]

#31555 11/25/03 01:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,081
Likes: 3
Member
Paul,

My guess would be that the person is talking about wire strands.

I'd sure like to have a picture of this completed installation.

[Linked Image]
Bill


Bill
#31556 11/26/03 12:48 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 394
B
Member
About terminating 50 A cable on a 15 A plug. Very easy. Bend out one strand and backstab it into the recep.

#31557 11/26/03 05:30 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
Ah right! I see what he was getting at now.

Unfortunately, I've seen similar tricks done here. [Linked Image]

#31558 11/26/03 08:58 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,081
T
Member
How will he trace the strand from the kitchen to the corresponding strand in the panel?

#31559 11/26/03 11:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,498
T
Member
Trial and error.
Or he'll rely on the strands making enoughcontact where they touch each other inside the cable [Linked Image]
However, I'm not really sure he's talking strands. Or why are there 6 on the hot and 7 on the Neutral?

#31560 11/26/03 12:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
Member
One strand already broken off on the hot wire?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
timmp
timmp
Leo, IN, USA
Posts: 28
Joined: June 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 9
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,454 Are you busy
231,865 Re: Forum
216,481 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5