ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 25 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#29827 09/26/03 09:04 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
F
feltch Offline OP
Junior Member
I'm just wondering if it's possible to run a switched light off of a 20 amp circuit? Will the wiring inside the light fixture be sufficient? If it is possible do I use a 15 amp or 20 amp switch?

#29828 09/26/03 09:19 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
Member
That's a pretty wide open question. . .try to narrow the field a bit with the context for the luminaire. . .commercial or residential and is residential the use of the 20 amp circuit, wattage of the switched load.


Al Hildenbrand
#29829 09/26/03 09:25 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
F
feltch Offline OP
Junior Member
This would be for residential use. The switch would be for a single light fixture 65 Watts.

#29830 09/26/03 09:48 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
65 watts diveded by 120 volts equals about 1/2 of an Amp. I'm sure your wiring is rated for that.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#29831 09/26/03 03:18 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,313
Likes: 7
Member
Yes, it's possible. Without starting a big debate over "tap rules", you should wire the fixture in #12 wire. The factory wiring within the fixture is satisfactory for the "load served". THe switch may be rated 15 amp, as it is only "switching" the 65 watt load of the fixture.

Please substitute the word "luminare" for "fixture" within the above comments, to be politically correct. It's hard for us guys that have been around for a while to "change our ways" on some subjects.

EDIT:

AS always, if you personally are "not qualified" to perform electrical work, you should consider locating a local electrical contractor/electrician. Residential voltages can cause serious bodily harm, and death as a worst case scenario.

John

[This message has been edited by HotLine1 (edited 09-26-2003).]


John
#29832 09/26/03 07:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 375
G
Member
Hotline1 ---

permanent life support my be a "worser" case senerio.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,686 Are you busy
228,470 Re: Forum
213,324 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5