ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#28848 09/01/03 11:26 PM
H
Any of you guys ever install lighting rods on homes? We have had a few tall beach homes struck by lighting and some customers want to know if rods would be a good safeguard. I have no experience with them. Thanks for all replies.

#28849 09/01/03 11:36 PM
G
Heatwave,
Check out NFPA 780, and yes, rods would help. You have to be certified by UL to do so, ain't something you just do, it does take a bit of study.

That said, how struck? I mean a direct strike tends not to leave much behind...... like I always said "Lightning don't strike twice in the same place, cause the same place ain't there the second time".

If they are receiving lots of damage, a ground ring would be your best bet, and then if you want to tie your rod system to it, they could. Put rods on each corner of the home and for gosh sakes, use Cadwelds.

Surge protectors on the service and all incoming conductors such as wells is also advisable, probably too late for the Ufer ground.