ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by grich - 09/27/21 11:59 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by Bill Addiss - 09/26/21 11:09 PM
nec 110.3 (B)
by HotLine1 - 09/26/21 03:42 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 7 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#221523 07/18/21 12:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 27
timmp Offline OP
Member
Hey, I live in NE Indiana, and in 2020, I lost power 6 times by July of the year. The super substation is 8 miles away, and I am the last customer on a one mile run of power liked on that main line that serves two towns and the additions around them. There is a three block area that always has the issues that causes the power to be lost for 35+ more customers. I've lived here for 25 years, and have seen all the foibles of I&M in servicing me and my neighbors. Now that I have been retired for 3+ years, I didn't feel like getting out the portable generator so I cold flush and shower, and started looking for a standby/backup generator.

I have some photos you might enjoy. If they don't answer your question about the install, give me a shout.

...Timm

Attached Images
Generator01.jpg Generator02.jpg Generator03.jpg

Timm
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
T
New Member
What was the reason for the 2 additional ground rods? I'm asking because I want to know. Not to pull some kind of Gotcha. Did an electrical inspector require them? Is it a Generac installation standard?

- -
Tom Horne

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
My guess is the transfer equipment makes this an SDS. (switched neutral)


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 27
timmp Offline OP
Member
I don't think its part of Generac's procedure, I was here when the local electrical inspector came and he actually followed the ground wire from the transfer box down under my stone and found the two rods till he passed the install. So it must be a local requirement. During the install, I asked about my two original ground rods, and they are still active.


Timm
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
Is this an SDS (switched Neutral)?
If so look at 250.30


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 27
timmp Offline OP
Member
YES, the neutral is isolated during backup power. Which is why I now have two sets of two grounding rods.


Timm

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Theelectrikid
Theelectrikid
Levittown, PA
Posts: 811
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
HB1 1
Popular Topics(Views)
283,573 Are you busy
216,870 Re: Forum
203,218 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5