ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Prototype production service needed
by carmend12345. 09/24/18 04:40 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Another "do you" loop wires #2204
06/27/01 08:11 PM
06/27/01 08:11 PM
S
sparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,360
On a RX job, do you go straight into a box, or leave a service loop outside of it??

[Linked Image]

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2205
06/27/01 09:12 PM
06/27/01 09:12 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Sparky,

Are you referring to some slack cable (service loop)outside the box?

Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2206
06/27/01 09:40 PM
06/27/01 09:40 PM
A
armelect  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 7
Doylestown,Pa.
New construction I`v always came straight in, but old work i may leave a loop.

Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2207
06/27/01 09:44 PM
06/27/01 09:44 PM
F
Fred  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
Straughn, IN 47387
I always pulled the romex so I had 12" sticking out of the device box, stapled it 6" from where it entered the box, then pulled back a "bubble" leaving 6" extending free from the front of the box. Just in case the drywallers hooked a wire and chewed it up.

Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2208
06/28/01 06:17 AM
06/28/01 06:17 AM
S
sparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,360
Redsy;
yes, for the same reason Fred mentions, as well as the possible movement of boxes due to 11th hour redesigns.

[Linked Image]

Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2209
06/28/01 09:39 AM
06/28/01 09:39 AM
Joe Tedesco  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Boston, Massachusetts USA
And --- you can be sure the next guy 30 years from now will say nice things about you for the extra slack, especially after the previous 6 owners clipped the wires shorter than 6 inches!

I always left slack in the space above the ceiling.

[This message has been edited by Joe Tedesco (edited 07-28-2002).]


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2210
06/28/01 10:04 AM
06/28/01 10:04 AM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Is there any code reference on this? I don't think so, but, someone I know insists there is. He can't find it though.

Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2211
06/28/01 07:01 PM
06/28/01 07:01 PM
S
sparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,360
Redsy,
there is for every wiring method, 336-18 asks to secure 12" before box entry, so we just move the staple closer to the box and take advantage of this.
Of interest, kinda goes with Joe's response would be 336-12 EX #2, which is actually asking for a 'loop' .

[Linked Image]

Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2212
06/28/01 07:31 PM
06/28/01 07:31 PM
sparky66wv  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
OK, I thought I had read somewhere that it said something like "...12 inches as measured along the length of the cable..." but I'll be dipped if I can find it. (I have been looking...)

Perhaps it was in the ROP's?

This little difference would render the extra cable as a violation, no matter how close the staple was...

[Linked Image]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: Another "do you" loop wires #2213
06/28/01 08:23 PM
06/28/01 08:23 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Quote
Originally posted by sparky:I know the exception you are referring to, however, I believe this pertains to a special type of device that requires no box. I saw a picture of them once. You leave a loop of rx sticking out of the wall and use a special tool to install the switch or receptacle onto the cable. I think I saw it in a code handbook sometime, but never in the flesh.
Redsy,
there is for every wiring method, 336-18 asks to secure 12" before box entry, so we just move the staple closer to the box and take advantage of this.
Of interest, kinda goes with Joe's response would be 336-12 EX #2, which is actually asking for a 'loop' .

[Linked Image]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
249,427 Are you busy
187,351 Re: Forum
176,688 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0229 MB (Peak: 1.1968 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-24 12:29:55 UTC