ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Southwire Recalls Electrical Outlet Boxes
by Admin - 08/21/19 06:39 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:50 PM
100 year old Light Bulb
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:26 PM
Forum Updates Coming Soon.
by Admin - 08/18/19 01:55 PM
Anybody Remember this?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:07 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 36 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
20amp breakers #220048 04/25/19 05:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
watersparkfalls Offline OP
Member
I seem to have stuck in my head that the National Electrical Code requires all commercial buildings to have a minimum of 20 amp breakers...BACK STORY: the job I am on (15 story BLDG in Seattle) has heat pumps (hydronic type) with a MAX over current protection of 15 amps of course they wired them with the cheapest disco possible being a snap switch, hence the 15 amp breaker question, and the simplest fix they want to do.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220049 04/25/19 10:19 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,382
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I am unfamiliar with that rule. If the label on the HVAC unit says max breaker is 15 I think you are done. Install a 15 and it is Miller time.


Greg Fretwell
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: gfretwell] #220051 04/26/19 02:41 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
watersparkfalls Offline OP
Member
Thanks...What about inrush current on the breaker? Do you think not having time delay fuses will cause nuisance tripping?
Thanks,
h2o

Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220052 04/26/19 03:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,105
HotLine1 Offline
Member
H2O

The factory MOCP has inrush calculated within. You have to comply with the nameplate data.

Does it say MOCP....15 amp 'FUSE' or 'HACR-CB' or Fuse/CB.


John
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220053 04/26/19 03:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
watersparkfalls Offline OP
Member
The nameplate says fuse or HACR breaker...
Thanks again,
H20

Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220054 04/26/19 07:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,382
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
That is pretty much a slam dunk at that point, no matter if there is some local rule or not. You are required to use the manufacturer's installation instructions and on things like MOCD, it could easily be a safety issue. You could make the manufacturer happy if you just used a breaker or a fused disconnect as the local disconnecting device and still have a 20a circuit tho. We see that a lot on AC replacement units when they specify a lower MOCD than the original unit so they just change the breaker in the disconnect. Since you say they are using a snap switch there it would have to be the branch device in the panel.

Last edited by gfretwell; 04/26/19 07:18 PM.

Greg Fretwell
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: gfretwell] #220055 04/29/19 04:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
watersparkfalls Offline OP
Member
Thanks...
H20


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 99
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 23
GeneSF 8
Popular Topics(Views)
257,894 Are you busy
193,629 Re: Forum
183,252 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3