ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
12 Lead Motor Connection Weird
by emolatur - 01/19/22 02:40 PM
Any women electricians here?
by gfretwell - 01/17/22 01:44 PM
Well There's your problem.
by gfretwell - 01/08/22 12:17 AM
Happy New Year!!
by HotLine1 - 01/04/22 09:50 AM
Sangamo s309.2
by Robski - 12/31/21 04:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 56 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 99
richard Offline OP
Member
installed low volt step lights with led driver, controlled by lutron occupancy sensor switch and lights have a flicker. someone suggested I install a cube relay between the line and load of the sensor. has anyone had similar issues?

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 205
G
Member
I;m not familiar with your specific units, but if it is a solid state switch in the sensor, probably a triac, and its driving into an invertor type led supply, then problems are to be expected. It's the same as some leds & dimmers are compatible and some are not.
A relay could be an effective, if rather crude, solution.
Alternatively, perhaps a low voltage occupancy sensor ?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,677
Likes: 9
G
Member
You could try putting a small incandescent load on the switch and see if that gets it going. These are usually a problem when it is a 2 wire switch (no neutral) and they are driving the electronics through the load.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 99
richard Offline OP
Member
i will try that and let you know if it works. there are 11 step lights in a stairway in a house, with 1 Lutron Maestro Occupancy sensor switch at the top of the stairs, controlling 1 driver, which feeds 5 step lights, and 1 motion switch at the bottom of the stairs controlling 1 driver which feeds 6 step lights(low voltage). each step light has a load of .8 amps each, so the load is small. This maestro switch can only be used at one location with the option of a wireless motion sensor at the second location, but the customer didn't like the bulky look, which is the reason for breaking up the 11 into two sets.

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 99
richard Offline OP
Member
so i picked up a LUT-MLC, which is a luttron minimum capacitor. i have not gone back to the customer yet, but will let you know if it worked.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
Robski 1
grich 1
Popular Topics(Views)
288,189 Are you busy
220,264 Re: Forum
206,245 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5