ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
led lights flicker with lutron occup sensor switch #219472
07/28/18 10:55 PM
07/28/18 10:55 PM
richard  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 98
L.I. New York
installed low volt step lights with led driver, controlled by lutron occupancy sensor switch and lights have a flicker. someone suggested I install a cube relay between the line and load of the sensor. has anyone had similar issues?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: led lights flicker with lutron occup sensor switch [Re: richard] #219473
07/29/18 04:51 AM
07/29/18 04:51 AM
G
geoff in UK  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 190
UK
I;m not familiar with your specific units, but if it is a solid state switch in the sensor, probably a triac, and its driving into an invertor type led supply, then problems are to be expected. It's the same as some leds & dimmers are compatible and some are not.
A relay could be an effective, if rather crude, solution.
Alternatively, perhaps a low voltage occupancy sensor ?

Re: led lights flicker with lutron occup sensor switch [Re: richard] #219474
07/29/18 01:14 PM
07/29/18 01:14 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
You could try putting a small incandescent load on the switch and see if that gets it going. These are usually a problem when it is a 2 wire switch (no neutral) and they are driving the electronics through the load.


Greg Fretwell
Re: led lights flicker with lutron occup sensor switch [Re: richard] #219475
07/29/18 07:58 PM
07/29/18 07:58 PM
richard  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 98
L.I. New York
i will try that and let you know if it works. there are 11 step lights in a stairway in a house, with 1 Lutron Maestro Occupancy sensor switch at the top of the stairs, controlling 1 driver, which feeds 5 step lights, and 1 motion switch at the bottom of the stairs controlling 1 driver which feeds 6 step lights(low voltage). each step light has a load of .8 amps each, so the load is small. This maestro switch can only be used at one location with the option of a wireless motion sensor at the second location, but the customer didn't like the bulky look, which is the reason for breaking up the 11 into two sets.

Re: led lights flicker with lutron occup sensor switch [Re: richard] #219481
07/31/18 07:48 PM
07/31/18 07:48 PM
richard  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 98
L.I. New York
so i picked up a LUT-MLC, which is a luttron minimum capacitor. i have not gone back to the customer yet, but will let you know if it worked.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
248,548 Are you busy
186,243 Re: Forum
175,723 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9686 MB (Peak: 1.1086 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-16 08:13:16 UTC