ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/25/18 06:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
"Line level" audio on Cat 5? #211764
11/15/13 01:34 PM
11/15/13 01:34 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,290
Estero,Fl,usa
Has anyone done this? It seems like it should work but I am willing to hear some actual experience.


Greg Fretwell
Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211766
11/15/13 01:48 PM
11/15/13 01:48 PM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,247
SI,New Zealand
Greg,
That would depend on the distance that you were looking to send that audio, would it not?
I see there are a heap of "adapters" now that allow you to send pretty much anything over Cat5 wire.
These are powered units so you'd think there would be some sort of amplification/attenuation in there.

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211777
11/15/13 08:15 PM
11/15/13 08:15 PM
C
cableguy619  Offline
New Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Iowa
Line level audio on a cat-5 cable system is very simple-- pick a pair, hook an audio source to it, hook the same pair to the destination input. Broadcast radio has been doing it for several years. Here is a link for one manufacturer of audio to cat-5 components.

http://www.studiohub.com/

Here is a page that has pinouts of their system:

http://www.studiohub.com/PDF/PinoutGuidewithAdapters.pdf

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211780
11/15/13 10:52 PM
11/15/13 10:52 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,290
Estero,Fl,usa
what do you have with isolation transformers in it (multiple connections and different circuits)


Greg Fretwell
Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211790
11/16/13 12:35 AM
11/16/13 12:35 AM
C
cableguy619  Offline
New Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Iowa
We used this wiring in a radio broadcast studio. There were no isolation transformers, just ran the wiring from point to point between devices (receivers, distribution amps, mixing consoles, etc.) We used shielded cat 5 wiring, the audio sources were balanced line level.

Telephone networks have been running line level audio on twisted pair for many decades.

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211894
11/20/13 09:31 PM
11/20/13 09:31 PM
J
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 794
Chicago, Il.

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: cableguy619] #211982
11/26/13 07:55 PM
11/26/13 07:55 PM
G
grich  Offline
New Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision
Originally Posted by cableguy619
...the audio sources were balanced line level...


That's the key to what makes it work. Audio source and destination equipment MUST be balanced. Stuff that's unbalanced must be made so with transformers or balanced-to-unbalanced amplifiers.

I helped wire a four-station cluster in 2006. Audio interconnects between studios and the rack room were made with overall-shielded 25-pair CAT5 cables. AES/EBU digital audio was sent over the same cables, since the impedance of AES audio gear (110-ohm for the balanced version) is essentially the same as CAT5 cable.

Last edited by grich; 11/26/13 07:58 PM.
Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #212715
02/07/14 05:11 PM
02/07/14 05:11 PM
Wmackay  Offline
New Member
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
USA
sound or voice over IP is best
use sip or bonjour

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #218676
08/08/17 02:10 PM
08/08/17 02:10 PM
D
dsk  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Norway
Back in the old days we did it with lo quality lines over huge distances, we called it telephony. One of the main issues is to get the right impedance, close to 600 ohms seems to turn out well. (impedance, not resistance!)

dsk

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #218680
08/08/17 10:39 PM
08/08/17 10:39 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,290
Estero,Fl,usa
I was told by one of my engineer buddies that audio might as well be DC at the distances we are usually dealing with. Even 20khz (that I can't hear) will have a wavelength of almost a mile so I am not sure you will see any problems.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Popular Topics(Views)
249,478 Are you busy
187,395 Re: Forum
176,739 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0157 MB (Peak: 1.1965 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-26 14:41:13 UTC