ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 5
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by ghost307. 12/15/17 08:13 AM
2017 NEC Changes
by ghost307. 12/15/17 08:09 AM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,057 Are you busy
179,497 Re: Forum
170,416 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#211764 - 11/15/13 12:34 PM "Line level" audio on Cat 5?  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
Has anyone done this? It seems like it should work but I am willing to hear some actual experience.


Greg Fretwell

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides


#211766 - 11/15/13 12:48 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,223
SI,New Zealand
Greg,
That would depend on the distance that you were looking to send that audio, would it not?
I see there are a heap of "adapters" now that allow you to send pretty much anything over Cat5 wire.
These are powered units so you'd think there would be some sort of amplification/attenuation in there.


#211777 - 11/15/13 07:15 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
cableguy619  Offline
New Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Iowa
Line level audio on a cat-5 cable system is very simple-- pick a pair, hook an audio source to it, hook the same pair to the destination input. Broadcast radio has been doing it for several years. Here is a link for one manufacturer of audio to cat-5 components.

http://www.studiohub.com/

Here is a page that has pinouts of their system:

http://www.studiohub.com/PDF/PinoutGuidewithAdapters.pdf


#211780 - 11/15/13 09:52 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
what do you have with isolation transformers in it (multiple connections and different circuits)


Greg Fretwell

#211790 - 11/15/13 11:35 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
cableguy619  Offline
New Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Iowa
We used this wiring in a radio broadcast studio. There were no isolation transformers, just ran the wiring from point to point between devices (receivers, distribution amps, mixing consoles, etc.) We used shielded cat 5 wiring, the audio sources were balanced line level.

Telephone networks have been running line level audio on twisted pair for many decades.


#211894 - 11/20/13 08:31 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 791
Chicago, Il.


#211982 - 11/26/13 06:55 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: cableguy619]  
grich  Offline
New Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision
Originally Posted by cableguy619
...the audio sources were balanced line level...


That's the key to what makes it work. Audio source and destination equipment MUST be balanced. Stuff that's unbalanced must be made so with transformers or balanced-to-unbalanced amplifiers.

I helped wire a four-station cluster in 2006. Audio interconnects between studios and the rack room were made with overall-shielded 25-pair CAT5 cables. AES/EBU digital audio was sent over the same cables, since the impedance of AES audio gear (110-ohm for the balanced version) is essentially the same as CAT5 cable.

Last edited by grich; 11/26/13 06:58 PM.

#212715 - 02/07/14 04:11 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
Wmackay  Offline
New Member
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
USA
sound or voice over IP is best
use sip or bonjour


#218676 - 08/08/17 01:10 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
dsk  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 74
Norway
Back in the old days we did it with lo quality lines over huge distances, we called it telephony. One of the main issues is to get the right impedance, close to 600 ohms seems to turn out well. (impedance, not resistance!)

dsk


#218680 - 08/08/17 09:39 PM Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
I was told by one of my engineer buddies that audio might as well be DC at the distances we are usually dealing with. Even 20khz (that I can't hear) will have a wavelength of almost a mile so I am not sure you will see any problems.


Greg Fretwell


Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8155 MB (Peak: 0.9972 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-15 14:07:12 UTC