ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 08:39 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 04:29 PM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
Test Post
by sabrown - 03/06/24 05:29 PM
Solar PV Wiring Errors
by renosteinke - 03/02/24 09:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 94 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Potseal Offline OP
Recently I was taking part in a project at the building where I work as a maintenance electrician. A contractor was hired to install a UPS on an emergency power riser that feeds critical equipment that would benefit greatly from not seeing power bumps, etc. Our electrical staff worked with the contractor at various times during the project including the installation of tie breakers to feed certain panels on one emergency riser from another to avoid interruption of service while the UPS was being installed. On the eve of the tie breakers installation the contractor had 3 groups at the three installation points where one panel from a 600A, 3 Phase, 120/208V riser would feed two panels on the 300A, 120/208V riser where the UPS would later be installed. Myself and another electrician co-worker observed and offered assistance as needed. There was a well laid out document of steps to follow including a contingency plan should certain breakers not reset after the shutdown of power. It appeared that everything went as planned including phase rotation testing and phase sequencing (zero voltage test). Once that stage was completed we would later come back to transfer the load from the 300A riser to the 600A riser and wait 24 hours to observe if any issues developed.