ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
F
frank Offline OP
Im an old school electrician and was stupid enough to get into a conversion with my supervisor who is not an electrician about arc flash and shock hazards.He now wants me to fabricate guards to mount over the exposed fusing lugs in all the starter buckets and panels in the plant.
Not being up on this sort of thing I would think the manufacturer should be consulted before i start fabricating anything in the name of safety.I would also imagine there are specific materials and thicknesses that would have to be used.I have not started to investigate the issue but opinions would be greatly appreciated.Ill run this by CCS but i want to at least have a clue what im talking about.On a side note they are to cheap to buy a new code book if you an believe that.

G
You might want to show him some videos of arc flash events and then ask him if he really thinks that homemade guards would do anything.
Perhaps the video of an MCC door being blown out would work...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sk7uVKC7r_I

Ghost307
F
frank Offline OP