ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Look at this mess...
by NORCAL - 11/15/19 10:21 PM
Fire source!
by sabrown - 11/07/19 08:39 AM
Parallel Conductor Divisor
by LongRunner - 11/04/19 02:21 AM
FPE in Germany
by Texas_Ranger - 10/29/19 05:12 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 171 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... #217848 12/15/16 10:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline OP
Member
For Ghits and Siggles....

If a Class 2 circuit is protected by an properly sized OCPD, is it really a Class 2 circuit or is it a Class 1 circuit and can be treated as a Class 1 circuit as long it meets the requirements of a Class 1 circuit as needed?

....and go!


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217850 12/17/16 02:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,411
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
A class 2 is inherently protected by the limited current power supply so the only reason for OCP is protecting equipment.


Greg Fretwell
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217851 12/17/16 05:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline OP
Member
I understand what a class 2 circuit is, hence the question. I'm not abvocating this but let's say one need to dim LED lights (0-10V) and there's no practical way to run a seperate raceway to the light. If one would properly fused the dimmer circuit and used appropriate voltage rated wire, could both the lighting circuit and dimmer circuit be in the same raceway?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217852 12/17/16 06:40 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,121
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Based on your scenario...I see no problem.



John
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217853 12/18/16 01:01 AM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 264
Potseal Offline
Member
I might be misunderstanding the scenario but if the light is 120V AC and the dimming is 0-10V DC and they are both in the same raceway running parallel over a long distance isn't there a possible issue of interference with the AC to the DC? Sparkyinak's scenario might be to code but ultimately it could lead to problems.


A malfunction at the junction
--------------------------------------
Dwayne
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: Potseal] #217855 12/18/16 01:12 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline OP
Member
Granted this is all hypothetical but with your theory has possible merit. In a situation like that, I'd use shielded cable for the signaling.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217856 12/18/16 04:06 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,411
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I have questioned the Class 1 thing a few times and it is possible. You just need to follow all of the class 1 rules from end to end.

The chance of coupling harmful amounts of 60hz in any raceway that is not measured in miles is infinitesimal.
You are generally talking about 2 balanced conductors for each voltage. The twist necessary at 60hz is what you see on transmission lines.

If the raceway is actually a "duct" (referenced but undefined in the NEC) cable jackets can be the isolation although they usually have an additional isolating innerduct/raceway in there.

BTW along these lines, I have also heard the argument that a cable jacket is "isolation" so if you had a chapter 3 and a 725 cable in the same raceway, they are isolated. You just can't terminate them in the same box (generally).
The scenario was you have a raceway with a (say Romex) in it. You have "T" body conduit body at each end just before you enter the chapter 3 box. You come in the side with a low voltage cable and exit before you get to the box on the other end. Is that legal?

It is a conversation starter anyway.


Greg Fretwell
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217858 12/19/16 03:14 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline OP
Member
I'd have to grab my code book from the office. Interesting question. My initial take is if the signal circuit is class 2 or 3 circuit, I'd say no


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217859 12/19/16 10:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,121
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Guys:

This months issue of EC Magazine has an ad for "Encore Wire" new MC-LED AL cable. Seems to solve any issues like this.

I have not read it thoroughly, but on a quick read seems OK

www.encorewire.com is the website in the ad.



John
Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak] #217860 12/19/16 06:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,411
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Combo class 2/3 plus chapter 3 cables have been around for quite a while.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 5
NORCAL 1
Popular Topics(Views)
260,667 Are you busy
195,645 Re: Forum
185,002 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3