ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 5
Recent Posts
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 09/18/17 08:17 PM
Supporting conduit bodies
by ghost307. 09/18/17 12:12 PM
Thermal Imaging Camera upgrade
by Potseal. 09/18/17 11:57 AM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 09/15/17 11:37 PM
Recreational Trailer Power Supply
by David1. 09/14/17 01:55 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,825 Are you busy
176,587 Re: Forum
168,508 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 55 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#217848 - 12/15/16 11:34 PM When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?....  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
For Ghits and Siggles....

If a Class 2 circuit is protected by an properly sized OCPD, is it really a Class 2 circuit or is it a Class 1 circuit and can be treated as a Class 1 circuit as long it meets the requirements of a Class 1 circuit as needed?

....and go!


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#217850 - 12/17/16 03:44 AM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,113
Estero,Fl,usa
A class 2 is inherently protected by the limited current power supply so the only reason for OCP is protecting equipment.


Greg Fretwell

#217851 - 12/17/16 06:52 PM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
I understand what a class 2 circuit is, hence the question. I'm not abvocating this but let's say one need to dim LED lights (0-10V) and there's no practical way to run a seperate raceway to the light. If one would properly fused the dimmer circuit and used appropriate voltage rated wire, could both the lighting circuit and dimmer circuit be in the same raceway?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

#217852 - 12/17/16 07:40 PM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,862
Brick, NJ USA
Based on your scenario...I see no problem.



John

#217853 - 12/18/16 02:01 AM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
Potseal  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 239
Saskatchewan
I might be misunderstanding the scenario but if the light is 120V AC and the dimming is 0-10V DC and they are both in the same raceway running parallel over a long distance isn't there a possible issue of interference with the AC to the DC? Sparkyinak's scenario might be to code but ultimately it could lead to problems.


A malfunction at the junction
--------------------------------------
Dwayne

#217855 - 12/18/16 02:12 AM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: Potseal]  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
Granted this is all hypothetical but with your theory has possible merit. In a situation like that, I'd use shielded cable for the signaling.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

#217856 - 12/18/16 05:06 AM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,113
Estero,Fl,usa
I have questioned the Class 1 thing a few times and it is possible. You just need to follow all of the class 1 rules from end to end.

The chance of coupling harmful amounts of 60hz in any raceway that is not measured in miles is infinitesimal.
You are generally talking about 2 balanced conductors for each voltage. The twist necessary at 60hz is what you see on transmission lines.

If the raceway is actually a "duct" (referenced but undefined in the NEC) cable jackets can be the isolation although they usually have an additional isolating innerduct/raceway in there.

BTW along these lines, I have also heard the argument that a cable jacket is "isolation" so if you had a chapter 3 and a 725 cable in the same raceway, they are isolated. You just can't terminate them in the same box (generally).
The scenario was you have a raceway with a (say Romex) in it. You have "T" body conduit body at each end just before you enter the chapter 3 box. You come in the side with a low voltage cable and exit before you get to the box on the other end. Is that legal?

It is a conversation starter anyway.


Greg Fretwell

#217858 - 12/19/16 04:14 AM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
I'd have to grab my code book from the office. Interesting question. My initial take is if the signal circuit is class 2 or 3 circuit, I'd say no


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

#217859 - 12/19/16 11:58 AM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,862
Brick, NJ USA
Guys:

This months issue of EC Magazine has an ad for "Encore Wire" new MC-LED AL cable. Seems to solve any issues like this.

I have not read it thoroughly, but on a quick read seems OK

www.encorewire.com is the website in the ad.



John

#217860 - 12/19/16 07:34 PM Re: When is a Class 2 circuit, isn't?.... [Re: sparkyinak]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,113
Estero,Fl,usa
Combo class 2/3 plus chapter 3 cables have been around for quite a while.


Greg Fretwell


Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8124 MB (Peak: 0.9946 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-09-20 12:55:29 UTC