ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Another NEC 2017 Question_240/24VAC Txfr-Neutral R
by pcsailor - 09/15/19 04:56 AM
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by pcsailor - 09/15/19 12:30 AM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/15/19 12:09 AM
Service Question
by HotLine1 - 09/14/19 01:43 PM
What is this?
by NORCAL - 09/12/19 12:55 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (pcsailor), 243 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Control panel location #217658 10/02/16 07:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline OP
Member
General technical question. Any codes (outside of NEC) that prevents control panels being located above drop ceilings, up out of the way or the like? for example can a control panel with remote access can be "accessible" and not "readily accessible"?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Control panel location [Re: sparkyinak] #217659 10/03/16 10:28 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
I'm not aware of any codes specifying where the 'control panel' must be. I frequently see them installed in locked rooms half a county away from the equipment controlled.

This differs from 'disconnecting means' which must simply be 'accessible' and usually 'within sight.'

Please note that control panels typically do NOT qualify as the disconnecting means.

Re: Control panel location [Re: renosteinke] #217660 10/03/16 11:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline
Member
There might be an issue _if_ the ceiling space is classified as an air plenum.

Re: Control panel location [Re: sparkyinak] #217662 10/04/16 09:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 264
Potseal Offline
Member
As far as code rules go I think it would depend on the type of control panel. For example, a fire alarm control panel vs an automatic door opener control panel.


A malfunction at the junction
--------------------------------------
Dwayne
Re: Control panel location [Re: sparkyinak] #217666 10/06/16 03:27 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline OP
Member
Thanx. all too often, We run into areas that require 10 pounds of crap in a 5 pound box. Some controllers come with a remote panel. As long the panel does not need servicing or adjustment, why not mounting it high and the interface low. Plus with Blue tooth technology, just thinking outside the box


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 233
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 11
Popular Topics(Views)
258,518 Are you busy
194,118 Re: Forum
183,620 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3