ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Material shortages???
by HotLine1 - 05/23/22 01:56 PM
It's been an interesting career
by Marienauripod - 05/23/22 12:21 AM
Run Cap subsitution question. Two vs. one
by LarryC - 05/20/22 09:01 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#217341 06/21/16 10:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
I have a 800 amp service can I put just one 3/0 in one of the conduits from the main panel to ground the ct cabinet

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
Likes: 1
G
Member
No.
A fully rated grounding conductor must be routed in each of the conduits for parallel conductors.


Ghost307
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
thanks thats a 3/0 in each conduit right?

Last edited by lite bulb; 06/21/16 11:22 PM.
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
Likes: 1
G
Member
Copper or Aluminum?


Ghost307
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,297
Likes: 5
Member
Are you installing the GECs to the bond the neutrals in the CT? Or are you providing a bonding conductor for the CT cabinet?

Our POCO does not allow GECs in the CT cabinet, just bonding bushings IF required. Hot sequence the neutral block is bonded to the cabinet; cold sequence the neutral must 'float'. Then, bonding bushings may be required, dependent on the wiring method.

But, you are in Delaware, and Ghost is in Chicago, and I'm in NJ & referring to PSE&G rules.



John
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
Likes: 1
G
Member
If you're installing 2 sets of 500kcmil as Service conductors, you'll need to use NEC table 250-66 to size the ground conductor in each conduit.


Ghost307
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
Main service is comming into the ct cabinet in pvc, leaving the cabinet to a metal trough also pvc, out of the trough to the 800 amp main panel also pvc. I'll have to check on grounding the ct cabinet with the power company but I still need to ground the trough bonding will be done in main panel. Wire is 500 copper.

Last edited by lite bulb; 06/22/16 11:39 PM.
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
Power company does want a ground to the ct cabinet from main panel do I need a 3/0 in each conduit to the ct cabinet from the main panel or can I just put one 3/0 in one conduit also grounding the trough?

Last edited by lite bulb; 06/23/16 09:59 PM.
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,297
Likes: 5
Member
The POCO wants a "ground" in your CT cabinet; do they want the enclosure 'bonded' or the neutrals and GECs bonded at the CT enclosure?

IMHO, the POCO is looking to have the CT 'bonded'.



John
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
The enclocure bonded

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
LarryC 3
NORCAL 2
Popular Topics(Views)
291,341 Are you busy
223,834 Re: Forum
209,232 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5