ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by bcpappas - 02/02/23 08:01 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 124 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
J
Member
Here are the manufacturers install instructions http://dms.hvacpartners.com/docs/1009/Public/01/AR1000001A.pdf

lS1, etc are over temperature switches.

I am surprised at the apparently poor design


I took my time, I hurried up, The choice was mine, I didn't think enough
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
Originally Posted by LarryC
I just realized we are all going down the wrong path.


Says you.... Lol!

If the LS switches are "limit switches" or over loads, I stick with my last post. Based on the amp loads, L1 grounded out between relay and HEAT 1, LS 3 is tripped or defective. LS 1 and 2 are still closed possibly welded together. As for the relay, may be defective with L1 is open and L2 of the relay is welded. That would explain the goofy readings and why the breaker did not trip


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
J
Member
the ground fault, L1 cant be grounded, but the heater element must be grouded.

im saying that because if L1 was grounded out, the dead short would trip the breaker.


so, the relay is closed, heater 3, either the limit is stuck open or the heater is o/c. Heat 2 is fine, and heat 1, the element is grounded out, and not connected to L1.


We will find out tomorrow.


on a separate note, do the elements on these things go o/c often?

I think I might have a spare, so it might just get swapped out, but either way, ill find exactly whats happening tomorrow.


I took my time, I hurried up, The choice was mine, I didn't think enough
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
J
Member
I have the unit on my desk now, one element is o/c, one is good and the other is in about five pieces. the ground fault is gone, probably during the move

the limit switches are all good


I took my time, I hurried up, The choice was mine, I didn't think enough
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The Watt Doctor
The Watt Doctor
Humble, TX
Posts: 440
Joined: December 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 4
Popular Topics(Views)
303,018 Are you busy
232,125 Re: Forum
216,777 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5