ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Potseal 11
Recent Posts
Permit Snafus...AHJs and Contractors Jump in
by sparky. 04/28/17 08:11 PM
Electrode boilers question
by annemarie1. 04/27/17 01:40 PM
Why cables look like they do
by LongRunner. 04/26/17 09:36 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by HotLine1. 04/24/17 05:43 PM
Old decora style outlets
by Lostazhell. 04/22/17 07:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
SE cable question
Popular Topics(Views)
234,898 Are you busy
169,704 Re: Forum
162,928 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 68 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#216100 - 10/03/15 01:59 AM GEC routing  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,317
Alaska
When a GEC passes through a metal conduit, it needs to be bonded on both ends to prevent CEMF. When the GEC is free aired by other piping, metal structure, is there any clearance recommendation between the two? I forgot to look it up in my SOARES handbook.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#216103 - 10/04/15 03:18 PM Re: GEC routing [Re: sparkyinak]  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
There is a concern only when the wire is COMPLETELY surrounded by metal. The slightest break in the metal, and there's no concern.

Since most folks use an bare wire for the GEC, I think that concerns over creating a 'choke' effect are greatly exaggerated. Every point where the wire touches metal will break up the 'choke.'

I find it interesting that sparkies always take great pains to bond the GEC at both the panel and the ground rod end of the conduit, yet I always find transformer grounds to be simply run 'free air' out of pipe where they bond to building steel. In addition, transformer GEC's are almost always made using insulated wire. IMO, you've just made a choke point.

I also note a nearly complete lack of appropriate bonding fittings for use at the ends of conduit. Yes, there is that one type of ground rod clamp - a type NOT STOCKED within a hundred miles of me frown . http://www.erico.com/category.asp?category=R1431

Yes, there are 'bonding bushings,' but they place the bonding screw in a place that makes you bend the wire back onto the pipe, then reverse it again to continue to your lug on building steel. It's also a wee bit hard to fit larger wires under that tiny screw smile

Put a ground rod clamp on the end of the pipe and re-assemble it so the part that's supposed to connect to a rod instead grabs the wire? I suppose that might work, but it still looks pretty ungainly.

Would you use a 2-screw romex connector http://www.bptfittings.com/Home/ProductDetail?id=00781747256508 for this use?

All I'm asking for here, manufacturers, is a coupling with a long set screw! Place one end on the pipe, let the other screw pinch the wire. Is that too much to ask for?

Last edited by renosteinke; 10/04/15 03:20 PM.

#216106 - 10/05/15 03:09 AM Re: GEC routing [Re: sparkyinak]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,069
Estero,Fl,usa
They have those conduit bonding fittings for ground rods at the big box stores here and any electrical supply should have them although most GECs are in plastic these days.
Some contracts still call for metal tho.

Usually it comes in a kit with the rod clamp and the hub.
They have them threaded for rigid or slip with a set screw for EMT.


Greg Fretwell

#216107 - 10/06/15 02:19 AM Re: GEC routing [Re: sparkyinak]  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I gather you doubt my claim that I simply cannot get them locally. Well, I've tried .... and, frankly, I've yet to encounter a supply house clerk who even knew they existed- until I showed them the pictures in their own catalogs.

True, I have not tried EVERY supply house ... there are few smaller ones I haven't yet visited. I only checked one home center- which happened to be the only one within 50 miles. Nor had the inspector ever seen them, before he inspected my service.

UPS has been bringing me these, and other "unusual" items, regularly. One of my preferred vendors is Garvin. The list of things that are simply not available around here makes my head spin.

BTW, the hubs on those clamps are only listed to #6 wire. This is interesting, as both Chicago and Reno wanted a minimum #4 solid GEC. I was able to make them work by bending the wire with a torch, and using a slightly longer screw.

Still, that doesn't address the OP's question, or the issue with bonding transformers to building steel. Such bond typically run the wire - which is often required to be larger than #4 - up the wall until it is near the building steel. At that point the wire leaves the conduit, sails through free air, and lands on a lug bolted through the steel.



#216108 - 10/06/15 03:35 AM Re: GEC routing [Re: sparkyinak]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,069
Estero,Fl,usa
I bet if the inspectors started requiring those fittings, people would stock them.

They are pretty common here.


Greg Fretwell


Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 67
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 NEC and Related
2017 NEC
Now Available!

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7722 MB (Peak: 0.9127 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-04-29 01:46:19 UTC