ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
PC has killed Experimentation?
by LongRunner - 07/04/20 02:37 PM
Lock-down Thread
by LongRunner - 07/02/20 05:56 AM
"Electric furnaces" and other odd American heaters
by LongRunner - 07/02/20 03:15 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by Texas_Ranger - 07/01/20 08:14 AM
What would be the ideal solution?
by gfretwell - 06/30/20 02:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Satec power meter CT wiring #213773 07/15/14 05:36 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
S
sedesigner1 Offline OP
Member
I am working on a utility project. There are 2 Satec power meters wired in parallel across 2 bus breakers. The CT wiring is current flow into the meter terminals 1, 3 & 5 (correct for Satec's). The 2 meter current output terminals both wire to a 3rd meter, which is wired backwards (current in 2, 4 & 6, out 1, 3 & 5 wired in common to ground. Any ideas for the purpose of this.
Confused in New Jersey!

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213788 07/16/14 11:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Tesla Offline
Member
In all such cases, contact the tech rep for the device.

You do want a knowledgeable answer, no?

Voltages?
Amps?
wiring diagrams?
links?
problem?

Are these meter wired as a bridge?

Are you sure it's wired backwards?

Reactive power issues?





Tesla
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213790 07/17/14 04:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
S
sedesigner1 Offline OP
Member
The Configuration is breaker and a half. Voltage is 69KV, CT's are 3000/5. The meters are part of a zone of protection, 2 breakers with an outgoing line between them.I have the 3-line and wiring diagrams. I contacted Satec and GE (there is also a GE D25 as part of the loop). Based on their responses, the devices are wired in reverse. I'm sending the 3-line to both GE and Satec. And yes, I don't want an "it's ok" answer. I want a knowledgeable answer so I understand how this works.
Greg

Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213810 07/22/14 10:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
S
sedesigner1 Offline OP
Member
I got an answer from the utility (one of their relay specialists) and the answer was so simple I felt dumb! The line is part of a switching station. It normally feeds another station, but could also be used as a feeder to our station. The devices are wired reversed to measure incoming power to our station.
Greg


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
267,031 Are you busy
201,852 Re: Forum
190,433 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3