ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Satec power meter CT wiring #213773
07/15/14 05:36 PM
07/15/14 05:36 PM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I am working on a utility project. There are 2 Satec power meters wired in parallel across 2 bus breakers. The CT wiring is current flow into the meter terminals 1, 3 & 5 (correct for Satec's). The 2 meter current output terminals both wire to a 3rd meter, which is wired backwards (current in 2, 4 & 6, out 1, 3 & 5 wired in common to ground. Any ideas for the purpose of this.
Confused in New Jersey!

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213788
07/16/14 11:41 PM
07/16/14 11:41 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
In all such cases, contact the tech rep for the device.

You do want a knowledgeable answer, no?

Voltages?
Amps?
wiring diagrams?
links?
problem?

Are these meter wired as a bridge?

Are you sure it's wired backwards?

Reactive power issues?





Tesla
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213790
07/17/14 04:11 PM
07/17/14 04:11 PM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
The Configuration is breaker and a half. Voltage is 69KV, CT's are 3000/5. The meters are part of a zone of protection, 2 breakers with an outgoing line between them.I have the 3-line and wiring diagrams. I contacted Satec and GE (there is also a GE D25 as part of the loop). Based on their responses, the devices are wired in reverse. I'm sending the 3-line to both GE and Satec. And yes, I don't want an "it's ok" answer. I want a knowledgeable answer so I understand how this works.
Greg

Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213810
07/22/14 10:05 AM
07/22/14 10:05 AM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I got an answer from the utility (one of their relay specialists) and the answer was so simple I felt dumb! The line is part of a switching station. It normally feeds another station, but could also be used as a feeder to our station. The devices are wired reversed to measure incoming power to our station.
Greg


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,142 Are you busy
185,603 Re: Forum
174,942 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9593 MB (Peak: 1.0937 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-20 18:31:53 UTC