ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Windows 7 update problem
by ampherder. 06/21/17 07:01 AM
Norwegian power?
by dsk. 06/19/17 03:40 PM
Anyone ever take a Furnas A14D drum sw apart?
by gfretwell. 06/17/17 08:14 PM
Mains supply in GDR
by dsk. 06/15/17 04:02 PM
Any UL 508 experts out there?
by sparkyinak. 06/07/17 05:49 PM
New in the Gallery:
SE cable question
Popular Topics(Views)
238,136 Are you busy
173,302 Re: Forum
166,180 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 71 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#213773 - 07/15/14 05:36 PM Satec power meter CT wiring  
sedesigner1  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I am working on a utility project. There are 2 Satec power meters wired in parallel across 2 bus breakers. The CT wiring is current flow into the meter terminals 1, 3 & 5 (correct for Satec's). The 2 meter current output terminals both wire to a 3rd meter, which is wired backwards (current in 2, 4 & 6, out 1, 3 & 5 wired in common to ground. Any ideas for the purpose of this.
Confused in New Jersey!


Tools for Electricians:

#213788 - 07/16/14 11:41 PM Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
In all such cases, contact the tech rep for the device.

You do want a knowledgeable answer, no?

Voltages?
Amps?
wiring diagrams?
links?
problem?

Are these meter wired as a bridge?

Are you sure it's wired backwards?

Reactive power issues?





Tesla

#213790 - 07/17/14 04:11 PM Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1]  
sedesigner1  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
The Configuration is breaker and a half. Voltage is 69KV, CT's are 3000/5. The meters are part of a zone of protection, 2 breakers with an outgoing line between them.I have the 3-line and wiring diagrams. I contacted Satec and GE (there is also a GE D25 as part of the loop). Based on their responses, the devices are wired in reverse. I'm sending the 3-line to both GE and Satec. And yes, I don't want an "it's ok" answer. I want a knowledgeable answer so I understand how this works.
Greg


#213810 - 07/22/14 10:05 AM Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1]  
sedesigner1  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I got an answer from the utility (one of their relay specialists) and the answer was so simple I felt dumb! The line is part of a switching station. It normally feeds another station, but could also be used as a feeder to our station. The devices are wired reversed to measure incoming power to our station.
Greg



Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 NEC and Related
2017 NEC
Now Available!

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.010s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7600 MB (Peak: 0.8945 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-06-23 03:35:56 UTC