ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Question on power to 4 Nema 6-50 & 5 Nema 5-15.
by TrickedoutTech. 10/23/17 07:37 PM
300 watt transformer
by watersparkfalls. 10/23/17 05:23 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,464 Are you busy
177,468 Re: Forum
169,032 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 24 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#213773 - 07/15/14 05:36 PM Satec power meter CT wiring  
sedesigner1  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I am working on a utility project. There are 2 Satec power meters wired in parallel across 2 bus breakers. The CT wiring is current flow into the meter terminals 1, 3 & 5 (correct for Satec's). The 2 meter current output terminals both wire to a 3rd meter, which is wired backwards (current in 2, 4 & 6, out 1, 3 & 5 wired in common to ground. Any ideas for the purpose of this.
Confused in New Jersey!


Tools for Electricians:

#213788 - 07/16/14 11:41 PM Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
In all such cases, contact the tech rep for the device.

You do want a knowledgeable answer, no?

Voltages?
Amps?
wiring diagrams?
links?
problem?

Are these meter wired as a bridge?

Are you sure it's wired backwards?

Reactive power issues?





Tesla

#213790 - 07/17/14 04:11 PM Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1]  
sedesigner1  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
The Configuration is breaker and a half. Voltage is 69KV, CT's are 3000/5. The meters are part of a zone of protection, 2 breakers with an outgoing line between them.I have the 3-line and wiring diagrams. I contacted Satec and GE (there is also a GE D25 as part of the loop). Based on their responses, the devices are wired in reverse. I'm sending the 3-line to both GE and Satec. And yes, I don't want an "it's ok" answer. I want a knowledgeable answer so I understand how this works.
Greg


#213810 - 07/22/14 10:05 AM Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1]  
sedesigner1  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I got an answer from the utility (one of their relay specialists) and the answer was so simple I felt dumb! The line is part of a switching station. It normally feeds another station, but could also be used as a feeder to our station. The devices are wired reversed to measure incoming power to our station.
Greg



Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7603 MB (Peak: 0.8946 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-24 00:32:17 UTC