ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by Haligan. 05/21/18 03:28 PM
480 Delta
by ghost307. 05/21/18 10:38 AM
turning down possible problem customer
by HotLine1. 05/21/18 07:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by HotLine1. 05/14/18 09:42 AM
What estimating software do you recommend?
by wattsittoyou. 05/14/18 06:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 32 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Satec power meter CT wiring #213773
07/15/14 05:36 PM
07/15/14 05:36 PM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I am working on a utility project. There are 2 Satec power meters wired in parallel across 2 bus breakers. The CT wiring is current flow into the meter terminals 1, 3 & 5 (correct for Satec's). The 2 meter current output terminals both wire to a 3rd meter, which is wired backwards (current in 2, 4 & 6, out 1, 3 & 5 wired in common to ground. Any ideas for the purpose of this.
Confused in New Jersey!

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213788
07/16/14 11:41 PM
07/16/14 11:41 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
In all such cases, contact the tech rep for the device.

You do want a knowledgeable answer, no?

Voltages?
Amps?
wiring diagrams?
links?
problem?

Are these meter wired as a bridge?

Are you sure it's wired backwards?

Reactive power issues?





Tesla
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213790
07/17/14 04:11 PM
07/17/14 04:11 PM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
The Configuration is breaker and a half. Voltage is 69KV, CT's are 3000/5. The meters are part of a zone of protection, 2 breakers with an outgoing line between them.I have the 3-line and wiring diagrams. I contacted Satec and GE (there is also a GE D25 as part of the loop). Based on their responses, the devices are wired in reverse. I'm sending the 3-line to both GE and Satec. And yes, I don't want an "it's ok" answer. I want a knowledgeable answer so I understand how this works.
Greg

Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213810
07/22/14 10:05 AM
07/22/14 10:05 AM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I got an answer from the utility (one of their relay specialists) and the answer was so simple I felt dumb! The line is part of a switching station. It normally feeds another station, but could also be used as a feeder to our station. The devices are wired reversed to measure incoming power to our station.
Greg


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,856 Are you busy
184,209 Re: Forum
173,450 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9586 MB (Peak: 1.0930 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-22 00:38:16 UTC