ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
LED retrofit flickers
by rmiell. 01/18/19 08:49 PM
Israel
by Texas_Ranger. 01/14/19 07:12 AM
Free Code class in Maryland 1/16/2019
by Admin. 01/12/19 05:43 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by RODALCO. 01/12/19 02:37 AM
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 01/11/19 07:36 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Satec power meter CT wiring #213773
07/15/14 04:36 PM
07/15/14 04:36 PM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I am working on a utility project. There are 2 Satec power meters wired in parallel across 2 bus breakers. The CT wiring is current flow into the meter terminals 1, 3 & 5 (correct for Satec's). The 2 meter current output terminals both wire to a 3rd meter, which is wired backwards (current in 2, 4 & 6, out 1, 3 & 5 wired in common to ground. Any ideas for the purpose of this.
Confused in New Jersey!

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213788
07/16/14 10:41 PM
07/16/14 10:41 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
In all such cases, contact the tech rep for the device.

You do want a knowledgeable answer, no?

Voltages?
Amps?
wiring diagrams?
links?
problem?

Are these meter wired as a bridge?

Are you sure it's wired backwards?

Reactive power issues?





Tesla
Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213790
07/17/14 03:11 PM
07/17/14 03:11 PM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
The Configuration is breaker and a half. Voltage is 69KV, CT's are 3000/5. The meters are part of a zone of protection, 2 breakers with an outgoing line between them.I have the 3-line and wiring diagrams. I contacted Satec and GE (there is also a GE D25 as part of the loop). Based on their responses, the devices are wired in reverse. I'm sending the 3-line to both GE and Satec. And yes, I don't want an "it's ok" answer. I want a knowledgeable answer so I understand how this works.
Greg

Re: Satec power meter CT wiring [Re: sedesigner1] #213810
07/22/14 09:05 AM
07/22/14 09:05 AM
S
sedesigner1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 22
NJ
I got an answer from the utility (one of their relay specialists) and the answer was so simple I felt dumb! The line is part of a switching station. It normally feeds another station, but could also be used as a feeder to our station. The devices are wired reversed to measure incoming power to our station.
Greg


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 4
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
252,787 Are you busy
189,594 Re: Forum
179,262 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9590 MB (Peak: 1.0934 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-01-21 11:48:36 UTC