ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/19/18 10:50 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
Tingle off the water spigot
by Trumpy. 09/15/18 03:24 AM
Lighting Load questions
by HotLine1. 09/14/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 37 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Convert a fused pull out??? #213567
06/03/14 08:25 PM
06/03/14 08:25 PM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,024
Brick, NJ USA
Opinions please gentlemen:

Can a fused pullout disconnect be converted to a non-fused disconnect??

ie: replace the fuses with 1/2" copper pipe.

I'm interested in opinions from any and all of you guys.



John
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213568
06/03/14 09:55 PM
06/03/14 09:55 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,274
Fullerton, CA USA

Bussman has a product just for this application:

http://www.cooperindustries.com/con...eutrals_.catalog_numbers_%28amps%29.html

(It looks like a piece of 1/2" brass pipe) laugh

I'd use this instead of copper pipe.



Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213569
06/04/14 01:37 AM
06/04/14 01:37 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,287
Estero,Fl,usa
Electrically I suppose it is fine assuming you have overcurrent protection somewhere else.

How do you feel about "approving" unlisted products? (110.2)



Greg Fretwell
Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213571
06/04/14 11:07 AM
06/04/14 11:07 AM
Scott35  Offline

Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
The "Dummy Fuses" referenced in Electure's posted Hyperlink, are useful in 3 Pole Safety Switches; where the System used is a 3 Phase 3 Wire Corner Grounded Delta.

This effectively opens all 3 Conductors (both Ungrounded Conductors and the Grounded Conductor) simultaneously, and keeps the Grounded Conductor "Solid" (No OCPD in Series) at the Disconnect / Safety Switch.

Footnote: When such an item is seen by "4 Wire Wye-Guys only", the reactions by those unfamiliar with Corner Grounded Systems range from a simple "Whaddaheck???" to "Evacuate The Building!!!"

After which comes the difficulty of trying to explain why the Identified (i.e. Grounded) Conductor is One of the Three Wires for this 3 Phase 3 Wire Branch Circuit - and why White or Gray Insulation / Tape on this Conductor is Code Compliant...

Most grasp the concept and accept the System's "Differences", while only a few (be they obnoxious, arrogant, or simply from Mule-Level Reluctance), refuse to accept any part of such an Alien System's use, operation and Code Compliance.
(Note: I mention the latter, due to a few ugly debates from past installations...)

--Scott (EE)


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213573
06/04/14 02:42 PM
06/04/14 02:42 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,287
Estero,Fl,usa
The corner grounded systems I saw, (all sewer lift pumps) used equipment like single phase with two ungrounded conductors in a 2 pole breaker and a white grounded conductor with no overcurrent protection or disconnecting means at all.
If there was a switch type disconnect, it was 2 pole.

I admit, the first one I saw, standing there all alone with no help around had me pretty confused for a minute
I am glad I had heard of corner delta and was glad I figured it out before I said something dumb. wink


Greg Fretwell
Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213575
06/04/14 03:53 PM
06/04/14 03:53 PM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,024
Brick, NJ USA
Greg:
Yes, there was OCP back at the breaker panel, amperage conforming to the mfg nameplate. (HVAC-CU)

The old disco is marked 'fuses within pullout'. This is on an engraved plate on the disco.

I know electrically it works, however IMHO copper pipe is not a fuse.

The installer left a message that he is looking for a 'solid' pullout. I thought good luck; the disco is 60s vintage. I think two 30 amp, 250 volt, TD fuses will be a lot cheaper and easier to find?



John
Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213576
06/04/14 03:55 PM
06/04/14 03:55 PM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,024
Brick, NJ USA
Electure:
Thanks for the link.



John
Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213577
06/05/14 02:22 AM
06/05/14 02:22 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,287
Estero,Fl,usa
Like I said it is only OK if you approve unlisted fuse replacements. I agree with you. Bussman makes one so they should be using that. (or just put in some real fuses)



Greg Fretwell
Re: Convert a fused pull out??? [Re: HotLine1] #213612
06/10/14 09:39 AM
06/10/14 09:39 AM
HotLine1  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,024
Brick, NJ USA
Bump.....


John

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
sparky 9
Popular Topics(Views)
249,302 Are you busy
187,236 Re: Forum
176,602 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0058 MB (Peak: 1.1798 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-20 09:12:34 UTC