ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 04/09/21 01:08 AM
HI gang, long time since I was here...
by gfretwell - 04/09/21 01:02 AM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 04/06/21 09:30 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (NORCAL), 7 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Old 3 phase neutral bar #213091 03/20/14 08:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
I uploaded a picture of an old 3 phase panel with broken neutral bar. Don't know exactly where it went, but once it get posted, I would like to know if anyone might know where I can get one like it maybe. Thanks

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Old 3 phase neutral bar [Re: sparkync] #213092 03/20/14 08:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,237
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Link to your photo

[Linked Image from electrical-photos.com]

One of the other mods knowhow to move it, I don't!!


John
Re: Old 3 phase neutral bar [Re: sparkync] #213093 03/20/14 08:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,237
HotLine1 Offline
Member
OK, I just amazed myself...your pic is here. Just click on it for a large view.

That said, it looks like an old Murry, Bryant.

As I don't see a'main'; this is a subpanel. The neutrals & grounds are together??

You should be able to find something that you can fit in there. Have you tried at a local electrical supply??
A quick fix before you sellthem a new panel??


John
Re: Old 3 phase neutral bar [Re: HotLine1] #213094 03/20/14 09:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
Actually it an old seimans panel
It is on the dead front. No I haven't tried supply house yet and I sure hope I don't have to sell them a new panel. It would be a tough one in block and in conduit.

Re: Old 3 phase neutral bar [Re: sparkync] #213095 03/21/14 07:14 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Tesla Offline
Member
Vist Cutler-Hammer's website/ sales literature.


Tesla
Re: Old 3 phase neutral bar [Re: sparkync] #213114 03/22/14 02:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 908
N
NORCAL Online Content
Member
Originally Posted by sparkync
Actually it an old seimans panel
It is on the dead front. No I haven't tried supply house yet and I sure hope I don't have to sell them a new panel. It would be a tough one in block and in conduit.


I-T-E Circuit Breaker Company, Walker Div. is the make, they were a pre-CTL design panel, without notched bus stabs, 1960's timeframe so will be a longshot to find a part. As said above, Eaton retrofit panel may be the best bet.

Re: Old 3 phase neutral bar [Re: sparkync] #213115 03/22/14 09:18 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
I've been able to leave the tub in place and replace just the interior on several occasions.
You just need to make sure you buy guts that fit the old tub and run the idea past the AHJ so he's onboard with it.


Ghost307
Re: Old 3 phase neutral bar [Re: sparkync] #213120 03/22/14 02:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
I called supply house, and they said they had ground bars and some isolated mounts that might will work. I'm going to give it a try. It's gonna be Square D bars, so I'll have to drill some holes probably to make it work. And yes, I said Seimans, but actually it is ITE.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 236
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 1
Popular Topics(Views)
277,576 Are you busy
211,251 Re: Forum
198,275 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3