ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Do you count seconds?
by gfretwell - 12/05/19 07:36 PM
"Esoteric" countries and their wiring practices?
by Texas_Ranger - 12/02/19 10:52 AM
Look at this mess...
by NORCAL - 11/15/19 10:21 PM
Fire source!
by sabrown - 11/07/19 08:39 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (GrowthIsAFungus), 8 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
"Line level" audio on Cat 5? #211764 11/15/13 12:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,414
G
gfretwell Offline OP
Member
Has anyone done this? It seems like it should work but I am willing to hear some actual experience.


Greg Fretwell
Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211766 11/15/13 12:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,263
Trumpy Offline
Member
Greg,
That would depend on the distance that you were looking to send that audio, would it not?
I see there are a heap of "adapters" now that allow you to send pretty much anything over Cat5 wire.
These are powered units so you'd think there would be some sort of amplification/attenuation in there.

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211777 11/15/13 07:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
C
cableguy619 Online Content
New Member
Line level audio on a cat-5 cable system is very simple-- pick a pair, hook an audio source to it, hook the same pair to the destination input. Broadcast radio has been doing it for several years. Here is a link for one manufacturer of audio to cat-5 components.

http://www.studiohub.com/

Here is a page that has pinouts of their system:

http://www.studiohub.com/PDF/PinoutGuidewithAdapters.pdf

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211780 11/15/13 09:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,414
G
gfretwell Offline OP
Member
what do you have with isolation transformers in it (multiple connections and different circuits)


Greg Fretwell
Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211790 11/15/13 11:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
C
cableguy619 Online Content
New Member
We used this wiring in a radio broadcast studio. There were no isolation transformers, just ran the wiring from point to point between devices (receivers, distribution amps, mixing consoles, etc.) We used shielded cat 5 wiring, the audio sources were balanced line level.

Telephone networks have been running line level audio on twisted pair for many decades.

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #211894 11/20/13 08:31 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 806
J
JoeTestingEngr Offline
Member

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: cableguy619] #211982 11/26/13 06:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
G
grich Offline
New Member
Originally Posted by cableguy619
...the audio sources were balanced line level...


That's the key to what makes it work. Audio source and destination equipment MUST be balanced. Stuff that's unbalanced must be made so with transformers or balanced-to-unbalanced amplifiers.

I helped wire a four-station cluster in 2006. Audio interconnects between studios and the rack room were made with overall-shielded 25-pair CAT5 cables. AES/EBU digital audio was sent over the same cables, since the impedance of AES audio gear (110-ohm for the balanced version) is essentially the same as CAT5 cable.

Last edited by grich; 11/26/13 06:58 PM.
Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #212715 02/07/14 04:11 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Wmackay Offline
New Member
sound or voice over IP is best
use sip or bonjour

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #218676 08/08/17 01:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 92
D
dsk Offline
Member
Back in the old days we did it with lo quality lines over huge distances, we called it telephony. One of the main issues is to get the right impedance, close to 600 ohms seems to turn out well. (impedance, not resistance!)

dsk

Re: "Line level" audio on Cat 5? [Re: gfretwell] #218680 08/08/17 09:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,414
G
gfretwell Offline OP
Member
I was told by one of my engineer buddies that audio might as well be DC at the distances we are usually dealing with. Even 20khz (that I can't hear) will have a wavelength of almost a mile so I am not sure you will see any problems.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
261,156 Are you busy
196,295 Re: Forum
185,564 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3