ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Smoke & mirrors?
by JoeTestingEngr - 09/19/20 10:00 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ground fence #211254 09/30/13 01:26 PM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 30
B
Bravo Offline OP
Member
Hello,

I have a metal chain link fence inside a building that surrounds process equipment. Does the fence have to be grounded? I cant find req's in the NEC.

Thanks in advance


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: ground fence [Re: Bravo] #211255 09/30/13 02:36 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,526
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
A general rule that is not always fleshed out well in the language is that you should bond anything that is likely to be energized. If this fence is not near any energized conductors, it probably does not need to be bonded.

As an aside, it is probably fairly well "grounded" by the posts in the ground but that is not the same as bonded.

Places where I see fences bonded is where there is significant radiated power. This can be a radio/TV transmitter or just a big distribution transformer farm.

680 will also require that a fence be bonded if it is <5' from the water.


Greg Fretwell
Re: ground fence [Re: Bravo] #211258 09/30/13 07:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Alan Belson Offline
Member
A friend bought an old farmhouse cheap, cheap because a new 400,000 volt line from a new atomic reactor passed close by [200 yards, heading for Italy]- and destroyed local realty values. Now the poco has bonded the neighbor's entire sheet metal barns and machinery shed. Is that why? Should he do the same to his barn, do you think?


Wood work but can't!
Re: ground fence [Re: Bravo] #211259 09/30/13 07:48 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 358
M
mbhydro Offline
Member
I wonder if they are worried about tingle voltage affecting the livestock so that's why the POCO paid for the grounding?

Re: ground fence [Re: Bravo] #211260 09/30/13 09:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,526
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I have a 250KV and two 48KV lines running behind my house and I can't seem to detect any strange voltage problems. I tried every YouTube trick I have seen to light a fluorescent tube with no joy.
I even tried stringing 100' of THHN directly under the poles with various terminations or simply floating ... nothing.

It is a little disappointing actually. I thought I could get free lights for my boat house, virtually directly under the line.


Greg Fretwell
Re: ground fence [Re: Bravo] #211261 09/30/13 09:45 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,209
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Not on YouTube, but:
Changing 10'HO lamps in a sign, my 'ground man' yells on the two-way.."the bulb is lit!!".

End of the tube was 3'+/- from a 13.2 primary. It was not 'bright' but it was glowing!

OOOPS!


John
Re: ground fence [Re: Bravo] #211262 09/30/13 09:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,526
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
The poles are marked 115' but I assume 15' or more is in the ground. I suppose I could climb up a little closer and try. wink


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Joe Tedesco
Joe Tedesco
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Posts: 2,749
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,938 Are you busy
204,365 Re: Forum
192,584 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3