ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 04/09/21 01:08 AM
HI gang, long time since I was here...
by gfretwell - 04/09/21 01:02 AM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 04/06/21 09:30 PM
Portable Generator Grounding
by JoeTestingEngr - 03/14/21 03:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 11 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? #211018 09/04/13 01:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
I have a customer who has a house built in the 70's that has a 20 GFI breaker that feeds a lot of stuff from the house then a lot of lights down at the lake he lives next to
(Jecuzzi, path lights, boat house lights etc.). He's wanting me to add an outlet down near the lake and installing a GFI in it also. Any problems adding it on the same circuit as the breaker?? I think I've run into this before and had no problems, but can't remember. Thanks Steve..

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211019 09/04/13 01:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline
Member
It's a PIA to troubleshoot but its not a code issue. I'd recommend to the the customer go with the breaker. Less neuscience tripping and it would save hime a few dollars


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211020 09/04/13 02:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,575
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
If there is already a GFCI breaker, you don't need another GFCI on that circuit.
I do have a few that are stacked like that but it is a cord mounted GFCI in an appliance plugged into a GFCI circuit.


Greg Fretwell
Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211023 09/04/13 10:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,237
HotLine1 Offline
Member
One PITA of a string of GFI devices (on load side) is hunting down the one that tripped.

Putting a regular WR duplex down by the lake, could be a life safety issue, being the OP said lights, path lights are on that circuit.

Personally, I would have the lights on a circuit, the jacuzzi on a circuit, and a circuit down by the lake. GFI protection as required.

BTW, the multiple GFI devices on the same circuit is one of the 'homeowner' specials up here



John
Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211035 09/07/13 02:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,575
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I am not sure why troubleshooting stacked GFCIs is harder. It should be easier. You have a better idea of which segment of wire is good or bad.


Greg Fretwell
Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211036 09/07/13 06:15 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 204
G
geoff in UK Offline
Member
Its all down to trip times and device sensitivity. In a fault condition its a race between the devices and you can't predict which will go first. Hence the fault area is clear if only the one nearest the load trips, but a trip up the line and it's anyone's guess. In my opinion only time delayed units should be upstream of any others.

Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211037 09/08/13 12:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,575
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
It is still safe to assume the fault is past the last one that trips tho.


Greg Fretwell
Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211039 09/08/13 02:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline
Member
It's harder to trouble shoot per say because is is no the first thing that comes to your mind. I had once a GFCI breaker, GFCI recept and a second GFCI recept on the load side on the first recept. All is needed is one GFCI device and I place it in the most convient location in the circuit. If more then one is needed for conscience, no need to put one on the load side of another. If the customer don't know where they are all at then its gets time consuming meaning a big repair bill needlessly. Not good for a reputation.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: gfretwell] #211044 09/08/13 07:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,492
T
Texas_Ranger Offline
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
It is still safe to assume the fault is past the last one that trips tho.

True, tripping a GFI from the line side is fairly hard, except for transients (e.g. lightning).

Re: GFI outlet in conjunction with GFI breaker?? [Re: sparkync] #211046 09/08/13 08:42 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,237
HotLine1 Offline
Member
As an inspector, it is a royal pain 'hunting' for a tripped GFI downstream of the one I was testing.



John
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 4
Popular Topics(Views)
277,435 Are you busy
211,165 Re: Forum
198,192 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3