ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Material shortages???
by HotLine1 - 05/23/22 01:56 PM
It's been an interesting career
by Marienauripod - 05/23/22 12:21 AM
Run Cap subsitution question. Two vs. one
by LarryC - 05/20/22 09:01 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
Hey guys thanks for the help on these little issues I
run into. I want to use NEC 300.3 (C)(1)
"Conductors of ac and dc circuits rated 600 volts ,nominal, or less, shall be permitted to occupy the same equipment wiring enclosure, cable, or raceway. all conductors shall have an insulation rating equal to at least the maximum circuit voltage applied to any conductor within the enclosure, cable or raceway."

The voltage is 120/240 a.c. and I want to install the start and alarm conductors in the same J-box box as the power. The alarm cable specified is rated for 300 v. dc.
300.3 (C)(1) only refers to the voltage rating so I'm thinking it's OK even though the alarm conductors are only rated for dc. Right?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Read Informational Note #1 .

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
Thanks Yoop. I did see that but the fact that the cable met the voltage requirement but was only rated for DC is what was throwing me off. I usually separate everything but when the GC stubbs the conduits out of the concrete wrong I end up having to make things work. I don't encounter much low voltage and Article 725 still confuses me. One of the things I don't understand is how to accurately classify the circuits when you don't know what the attributes of the power source are in the equipment that is powering them. Is there an easy way to determine that or is it involved?

Last edited by wewire2; 03/27/13 02:05 AM.
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
What kind of alarm?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
For this installation it was generator failure alarms.

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
725 breaks down each. Class 1/2/ & 3. Take a look.

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
Haha! Got it! I knew I somehow must be missing a step. Totally makes sense now.

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
Sometimes, that all it takes. Better to talk it out now then have something to smoke out later and get clarity later...


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
LarryC 3
NORCAL 2
Popular Topics(Views)
291,341 Are you busy
223,834 Re: Forum
209,232 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5