ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,438 Are you busy
177,415 Re: Forum
169,008 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (gfretwell), 13 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#208706 - 02/07/13 06:10 PM Simple question about voltage and current ratings  
piphomer  Offline
New Member
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
San Francisco, CA
Dear all,

I am new to the industry and new to this forum. So thanks for bearing with me on a simple question!

When a 3-phase electrical box, eg this one is rated at 400A, does that mean 400A per phase, or 400A total i.e. 133A per phase?

Also, this box for example is rated as 600V - does that mean phase to phase, or each phase to neutral?

Many thanks!!

-Phillip


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#208707 - 02/07/13 07:41 PM Re: Simple question about voltage and current ratings [Re: piphomer]  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,123
Estero,Fl,usa
That is 400a per phase. The 600v is phase to phase.
For a 600v wye, l/n would be 347 as would be the wild leg of a center tapped 600v delta although I have never heard of doing it.
Typically you see 480v as the high end of "low voltage". (a multiple definition term itself)


Greg Fretwell

#208708 - 02/07/13 10:03 PM Re: Simple question about voltage and current ratings [Re: piphomer]  
piphomer  Offline
New Member
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
San Francisco, CA
Thanks!

So does that mean that for a 230V phase-phase (400V phase-neutral) system with a max current per phase of 160A, I actually can use a DH324NRK instead of the one in the previous link? Or do I have to go to the DH364NRK as I have 400V phase-phase so need the 600V capacity? Based on this cut sheet?

Thanks so much!


#208717 - 02/07/13 11:39 PM Re: Simple question about voltage and current ratings [Re: piphomer]  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,123
Estero,Fl,usa
If you have a 240v 3p with a 160a computed load the xx324xxx sounds like it is your panel with a 200a breaker using the appropriate conductors. If you had diversity and non continuous loads you could step down to 175a


Greg Fretwell

#208724 - 02/08/13 07:11 AM Re: Simple question about voltage and current ratings [Re: piphomer]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
piphomer: You're too green to be an EE, C-10 or certified electrician.

At this scale of power use -- turn the matter over to professionals.

There are too many issues for you to 'get it right' over the Internet.


Tesla

#208732 - 02/08/13 03:34 PM Re: Simple question about voltage and current ratings [Re: Tesla]  
piphomer  Offline
New Member
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
San Francisco, CA
Agreed. Thanks.



Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7780 MB (Peak: 0.9267 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-22 02:54:12 UTC