ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
This Old House
by johno12345. 05/26/18 12:44 PM
Extension cords
by LongRunner. 05/25/18 12:19 PM
Fire source!
by LongRunner. 05/25/18 01:49 AM
Alternative income sources
by gfretwell. 05/24/18 10:07 PM
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by geoff in UK. 05/23/18 01:18 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
300A xfer ATS w/ 4/0 lugs? #208585
01/31/13 08:38 AM
01/31/13 08:38 AM
C
CZap  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
NJ (Ocean Co.)
Trying to install a 300 amp ATS SR but whats up with the 4/0 lugs? I'm no rookie and usually use Generac switches but they were out of stock.

So we bought an eaton/cuttler. I can not figure how these lugs are viable. Every lug on this switch is rated 4/0. The switch even says 300A. How are people using this with 300a services?

45KW generator even has double lugs rated 500 kcmil or double 4/0.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 300A xfer ATS w/ 4/0 lugs? [Re: CZap] #208587
01/31/13 10:03 AM
01/31/13 10:03 AM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 940
Regina, Sask.
Lug kits cost extra.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 7
Popular Topics(Views)
246,943 Are you busy
184,345 Re: Forum
173,548 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9418 MB (Peak: 1.0608 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-28 02:57:31 UTC