ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 19 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
One Doorbell Button to 4 Doorbells/Chimes #206100 05/21/12 03:49 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1
1
1BadBoy Offline OP
New Member
Does anyone have any suggestions for being able to have our front door's doorbell button operate 4 doorbells within the home (one in garage, one in shop and 2 in our 3 story home)? Maybe a particular brand that may allow this setup?

I was hoping there was some way to do this maybe with a higher voltage/wattage transformer (e.g. 16v/30watt), but I'm still not sure if this is enough power. If not, is it at all possible to use multiple transformers to power 4 doorbells connected to a single doorbell button (e.g. maybe with 1 doorbell button connected to 2 transformers where each transformer would be connected to 2 doorbells)?

It seems to me that much larger homes must have similar needs, and I'm wondering how they are addressed. Thanks in advance for all insight and suggestions!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: One Doorbell Button to 4 Doorbells/Chimes [Re: 1BadBoy] #206101 05/21/12 04:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline
Member
Use the one dorbell button to energize a suitable relay. Use the relay contacts to trigger the separate doorbells.

Selection of the relay, the relay power supply, the interconnecting wires for all of the doorbells, and the proper installation will be left as an exercise for the user.

Re: One Doorbell Button to 4 Doorbells/Chimes [Re: 1BadBoy] #206102 05/21/12 05:25 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Alan Belson Offline
Member
A couple of minutes on 'ebay' USA found several wireless units with pairs of chimes. At least one advertiser had tunable receivers, so in theory you could fit dozens, by harmonising the codes. The cost would be less than the bell-wire and staples, and you could have multiple pushes too.


Wood work but can't!
Re: One Doorbell Button to 4 Doorbells/Chimes [Re: 1BadBoy] #206103 05/21/12 06:12 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
These days I am sure you can find solid state chimes that don't draw any significant amount of power at all.


Greg Fretwell
Re: One Doorbell Button to 4 Doorbells/Chimes [Re: 1BadBoy] #206104 05/21/12 07:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Just purchase 4 wireless units; tune to same DIP switch setting, and hang them where you will.

Re: One Doorbell Button to 4 Doorbells/Chimes [Re: 1BadBoy] #206105 05/22/12 12:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline
Member
in theory, if all the chimes are the same voltage and the transformer was of sufficent size, one button could run the whole show. It would required a bit of simple engineering know how. Giving your background, I'd look into a wireless system that will meet your needs like range of the transmitter


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,531 Are you busy
209,423 Re: Forum
196,814 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3