ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Fuse blower plug?
by SPSchuman. 07/20/19 05:02 PM
Baseboard Mounted Light Bulb Socket
by SPSchuman. 07/15/19 03:22 PM
Hunter Fan Recalls Brunswick 3 & 4 Light Fans
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:08 AM
Honeywell Recalls some Smoke Sensors
by Admin. 07/11/19 11:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 40 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
disconnect for gate operator #206032
05/12/12 11:58 PM
05/12/12 11:58 PM
S
schenimann  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
Western North Carolina
A local homeowners association is wanting to put disconnects on their pad mounted gate operator. I am not sure if it is 110v or 220v. They are wanting to disconnect the standard voltage as well as the battery backup. Is the best way to mount a post on the pad and put the disconnects on this? Can I use toggles rated for the proper voltage? Thanks.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: disconnect for gate operator [Re: schenimann] #206033
05/13/12 12:15 AM
05/13/12 12:15 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,373
Estero,Fl,usa
They are usually 120v from my experience and I see no reason why a snap switch in a 3r box with a suitable cover would not work.
This is not really a motor load. It is just an AC/DC power supply that runs a DC motor and control system.
The ones I have worked on are fused at 10a on the 120v side.

Opening the battery back up as going to be another switch. You need something DC rated and 15a or so. There is usually a DC off inside the box tho.

It really depends on what they are trying to accomplish.
There is a lockout capability in most gate operators without doing all of this


Greg Fretwell
Re: disconnect for gate operator [Re: gfretwell] #206034
05/13/12 05:20 AM
05/13/12 05:20 AM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,261
SI,New Zealand
Greg,
Do you guys not have things like 5 pole SPST switches over there, the likes of the Kraus and Naimer CA-10 range, where if you need more contacts, you add another circular contact block on the back of the switch actuator?

Believe you me mate, these things have got me out of deep doo-doo before, most are rated at 500VAC/100VDC and you can get them in all sorts of switching configurations like SPDT, DPDT, you can have it as you like. wink

Re: disconnect for gate operator [Re: schenimann] #206036
05/13/12 11:36 AM
05/13/12 11:36 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,373
Estero,Fl,usa
You might be able to find that switch but how do you get around the low voltage and line voltage in the same enclosure? You might be able to provide suitable barriers but you still have to convince the AHJ it s OK.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
257,151 Are you busy
192,972 Re: Forum
182,626 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9610 MB (Peak: 1.0950 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-07-21 08:46:39 UTC