ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
disconnect for gate operator #206032 05/12/12 10:58 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
S
schenimann Offline OP
Member
A local homeowners association is wanting to put disconnects on their pad mounted gate operator. I am not sure if it is 110v or 220v. They are wanting to disconnect the standard voltage as well as the battery backup. Is the best way to mount a post on the pad and put the disconnects on this? Can I use toggles rated for the proper voltage? Thanks.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: disconnect for gate operator [Re: schenimann] #206033 05/12/12 11:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
They are usually 120v from my experience and I see no reason why a snap switch in a 3r box with a suitable cover would not work.
This is not really a motor load. It is just an AC/DC power supply that runs a DC motor and control system.
The ones I have worked on are fused at 10a on the 120v side.

Opening the battery back up as going to be another switch. You need something DC rated and 15a or so. There is usually a DC off inside the box tho.

It really depends on what they are trying to accomplish.
There is a lockout capability in most gate operators without doing all of this


Greg Fretwell
Re: disconnect for gate operator [Re: gfretwell] #206034 05/13/12 04:20 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,379
Trumpy Offline
Member
Greg,
Do you guys not have things like 5 pole SPST switches over there, the likes of the Kraus and Naimer CA-10 range, where if you need more contacts, you add another circular contact block on the back of the switch actuator?

Believe you me mate, these things have got me out of deep doo-doo before, most are rated at 500VAC/100VDC and you can get them in all sorts of switching configurations like SPDT, DPDT, you can have it as you like. wink

Re: disconnect for gate operator [Re: schenimann] #206036 05/13/12 10:36 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
You might be able to find that switch but how do you get around the low voltage and line voltage in the same enclosure? You might be able to provide suitable barriers but you still have to convince the AHJ it s OK.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
MCosta 3
Popular Topics(Views)
275,453 Are you busy
209,361 Re: Forum
196,636 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3