ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 31 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 193
S
Member
A local homeowners association is wanting to put disconnects on their pad mounted gate operator. I am not sure if it is 110v or 220v. They are wanting to disconnect the standard voltage as well as the battery backup. Is the best way to mount a post on the pad and put the disconnects on this? Can I use toggles rated for the proper voltage? Thanks.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
They are usually 120v from my experience and I see no reason why a snap switch in a 3r box with a suitable cover would not work.
This is not really a motor load. It is just an AC/DC power supply that runs a DC motor and control system.
The ones I have worked on are fused at 10a on the 120v side.

Opening the battery back up as going to be another switch. You need something DC rated and 15a or so. There is usually a DC off inside the box tho.

It really depends on what they are trying to accomplish.
There is a lockout capability in most gate operators without doing all of this


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Member
Greg,
Do you guys not have things like 5 pole SPST switches over there, the likes of the Kraus and Naimer CA-10 range, where if you need more contacts, you add another circular contact block on the back of the switch actuator?

Believe you me mate, these things have got me out of deep doo-doo before, most are rated at 500VAC/100VDC and you can get them in all sorts of switching configurations like SPDT, DPDT, you can have it as you like. wink

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
You might be able to find that switch but how do you get around the low voltage and line voltage in the same enclosure? You might be able to provide suitable barriers but you still have to convince the AHJ it s OK.


Greg Fretwell

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 187
Joined: November 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
FGBY 2
Popular Topics(Views)
282,938 Are you busy
216,703 Re: Forum
203,123 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5