ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,398 Are you busy
177,355 Re: Forum
168,966 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 53 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#205961 - 05/02/12 02:31 AM sub panel in elevator shaft  
sidmuer  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
Ontario
Hello.
I am trying to find some info, and seem to be hitting a wall.
I was wondering if anyone here knew the min subpanel height in an elevator shaft?
And if no min, what would the maximum be?

Thanks.


Tools for Electricians:

#205962 - 05/02/12 06:12 PM Re: sub panel in elevator shaft [Re: sidmuer]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
In my state, California, elevators are regulated at the state level -- with special almighty inspectors.

They'd never permit such a beast in the first place, at what ever height you care to posit.

Elevator regulation overrides the NEC -- and is much, much more restrictive.


Tesla

#205963 - 05/02/12 07:05 PM Re: sub panel in elevator shaft [Re: sidmuer]  
sidmuer  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
Ontario
I was also thinking, along the lines if this just not being permisible.
Especially in the case of an emergency, you'd want easy access.

I guess, at this point, I will assume it is just not possible.

Last edited by sidmuer; 05/02/12 07:06 PM.

#205964 - 05/02/12 08:52 PM Re: sub panel in elevator shaft [Re: sidmuer]  
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
You cannot put any building services in an elevator shaft unless it is for the elevators. This is not much at all. Smoke detector, pit light and pit receptacle. I have done more than 1 service call to remove electrical installations that used the elevator shaft as a riser ie only emt and 3 wires were in the pipe.
Now for the mechanical room you need permission from the elevator inspector to put anything more than the electrical for the elevator. Even a jb can be refused if it is not associated with the operation of the elevator. So a disconnect for the car and a disconnect for the car light. a light and switch for the room and a plug for the elevator service guys. Fire alarm device. All other equipment is by the elevator company.

So a panel? No way. even the disco for the elevator has to have a pilot switch that operates from the opening of the main disconnect and a panel won't work for that either.


#205966 - 05/03/12 12:32 AM Re: sub panel in elevator shaft [Re: mikesh]  
sidmuer  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
Ontario
Thanks Mikesh!
It is actually a test question. Although I do not know if I have read it correct (bad memory??) But if my bad memory is correct, the question was: What's the min height of a sub-panel in an elevator shaft?
I would assume the sub-panel is for the elevator. But by the looks of it, even a sub-panel for the elevator is not allowed in the shaft. Correct?

Originally Posted by mikesh
You cannot put any building services in an elevator shaft unless it is for the elevators. This is not much at all. Smoke detector, pit light and pit receptacle. I have done more than 1 service call to remove electrical installations that used the elevator shaft as a riser ie only emt and 3 wires were in the pipe.
Now for the mechanical room you need permission from the elevator inspector to put anything more than the electrical for the elevator. Even a jb can be refused if it is not associated with the operation of the elevator. So a disconnect for the car and a disconnect for the car light. a light and switch for the room and a plug for the elevator service guys. Fire alarm device. All other equipment is by the elevator company.

So a panel? No way. even the disco for the elevator has to have a pilot switch that operates from the opening of the main disconnect and a panel won't work for that either.


#205971 - 05/03/12 07:23 PM Re: sub panel in elevator shaft [Re: sidmuer]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
FYI, that will not fly down here in NJ either!


John

#205972 - 05/03/12 09:02 PM Re: sub panel in elevator shaft [Re: sidmuer]  
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
Test question?

My answer would be only materials directly associated with the elevator may be in the shaft plus the smoke detector.
From 38-005 the minimum headroom is 2000mm but that is for controllers, disconnecting means but not panelboards which I would prohibit under 6-206 locating a panel in a hoistway should anyone think it is an acceptable location.


#205986 - 05/06/12 09:22 AM Re: sub panel in elevator shaft [Re: sidmuer]  
sidmuer  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
Ontario
thanks guys! Obviously a trick question.



Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7945 MB (Peak: 0.9576 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-19 20:13:35 UTC