ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
AreMetal Ladders Ever OK For Electrical Work?
by HotLine1. 01/22/18 07:31 PM
Photocell
by twh. 01/22/18 05:06 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by sparky. 01/20/18 05:09 PM
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/19/18 08:52 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
100 W HPS fixture issue #205629
03/15/12 12:07 AM
03/15/12 12:07 AM
M
Merlin  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
I have a customer with a 100W HPS fixture on an outbuilding. The fixture is photoeye controlled. Almost everytime that a large load starts in the house (A/C, sewage ejector pump, ect.), the light shuts off and eventually comes back on.

The outbuilding and house are both on seperate loadcenters and feed from the same main panel at the meter. It appears to me that this is caused by voltage drop. Correct?? I even switch the fixture circuit to the opposite phase and it still does it. Could this be simply a photoeye problem, or utility service voltage drop???? Any suggestions?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: Merlin] #205630
03/15/12 03:02 AM
03/15/12 03:02 AM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,328
Alaska
Possibly the transformer is over loaded by other services. What's the incoming voltage at night? It tends to be a little lower in the evenings then the day


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: sparkyinak] #205632
03/15/12 08:34 AM
03/15/12 08:34 AM
W
wire_twister  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Georgia USA
+1 with sparky, check the voltage in the evening, and look at the size of the transformer, and its load. Call the POCO and ask for someone to come out and look.


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: Merlin] #205633
03/15/12 08:58 AM
03/15/12 08:58 AM
M
Merlin  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
This is in a rural area, only service on this transformer. voltage. Under start-up surge from A/C or sewage pump, I saw it drop to 112 for about 1/2 second. I switched the fixture to the "higher" phase (121) and it still dropped out under surge.

Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: Merlin] #205634
03/15/12 09:33 AM
03/15/12 09:33 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,919
Brick, NJ USA
Merlin:
Did you ck the voltage at the fixture, or the source panel?

Sure sounds like a Vd issue...at the fixture.


John
Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: Merlin] #205635
03/15/12 09:37 AM
03/15/12 09:37 AM
J
jdevlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
welland ontario canada
One side higher than the other would indicate possible loose neutral issue.

Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: Merlin] #205636
03/15/12 11:21 AM
03/15/12 11:21 AM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 926
Regina, Sask.
It's probably voltage drop, but try a new bulb to eliminate that before you spend a lot of money on it.

Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: jdevlin] #205637
03/15/12 11:51 AM
03/15/12 11:51 AM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,328
Alaska
Originally Posted by jdevlin
One side higher than the other would indicate possible loose neutral issue.


I agree with jdelvin that it could be a loose neutral. When A heavy load start on this service, does any lights on the premises get brighter?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: Merlin] #205639
03/15/12 07:24 PM
03/15/12 07:24 PM
W
wire_twister  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Georgia USA
I agree with the possible loose neutral situation also. As far as the transformer, My house is the only load on a 15 KVA pole pig, it is about 60 feet from the pole to my meter, every time my 4.5 ton AC compressor starts there is a noticible flicker in the lights. Put this same load on a 10 KVA pot and it could pull down enough to turn the light out. What kind of meter did you use to measure the voltage when AC started? Most DVOMs are not fast enough to catch the dip, so it is likely the reading you got was on its way back up before your meter settled down. Just my 2 cents.


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Re: 100 W HPS fixture issue [Re: Merlin] #205640
03/15/12 09:32 PM
03/15/12 09:32 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
Rewire your High Pressure Sodium fixture across 230 VAC instead of 120 VAC.

I'm presuming it has a CWA ( Constant Wattage Autoformer ) with multiple taps.

I also suspect that the wire gauge used to feed it needs 240 VAC.

You've made no mention of the distance to the outbuilding.

Check if the photo-eye can be replaced with a 230 VAC sensor, too.

Every time its voltage pulls low it changes its logical state -- which is the primary cause for the HPS to cut out.





Tesla
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,231
Joined: July 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 21
sparky 15
Potseal 15
Popular Topics(Views)
243,601 Are you busy
180,412 Re: Forum
170,870 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0257 MB (Peak: 1.2064 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-23 17:53:36 UTC